Skip to content

By the skin of my teeth

December 16, 2011

My heart feels like that ice that forms on the edge of a pond; brittle and thin around sticks and leaves-unable to support any weight heavier than the cold air brushing against it. Tears easily well up in my chest threatening to burst out from my throat spilling down my face unless I take big deep breaths. Everything is beautiful, fragile, delicate and amazing.

My heart is so full, complete and lucky it might break as it swells large enough to reach out to you. Envelope you and crush you tighter against me to keep it all from falling apart.

Bad christmas music played with earnest concentration with small hands, my white christmas tree filled with birds, the soft cheek of my children pressed against mine, the cold cloud filled sky bright with hidden sunshine, bare trees illuminated with moonlight, stars in a midnight blue sky, my dear’s warm hand on my back-all these magical things are mine.

As a new year approaches I feel the fast forward button pressed and I am lucky to have made it through another year by the skin of my teeth.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

