Skip to content

no, you don’t know me

April 4, 2011

Social networking, text messaging, email and the lure of the world wide web allows anyone, so you choose, to have access to who you are. Or think you might be. When I began blogging in 2006 there were about 250,000 people on WordPress which at the time seemed like a ton of people but in a few short couple of years later that number became over a million.

As the overly divulging masses pour out their thoughts and whimsy onto a paper looking screen and make semi-permanent their intent.

Reading something is a funny thing. I remember reading books as a child and becoming lost in the world I had sunk into and it feeling so real. I still adore writing like that-that sucks you in.

Social networking is a little like that only its more like a fantastically wicked gossip magazine replete with pictures and everything but just as absorbing.

There were a few instances in my early blogging that a few people, random strangers trolling around on the web took umbrage to what I was saying-as if anything I said makes really any difference to them. Arguing about whatever random thought I had and thought to write about seemed totally pointless and stupid.

Because lovely few readers at this point, I could be some fat middle-aged man who sells insurance and not at all who I claim to be. There are not many people I show my heart and soul to and once you have seen it I have to know that you won’t ever betray that or I will take it away and I will be just another face in the crowd to you. You will know me when I would do anything for you, when you and I pee together while we chat, if I invite  you over for dinner, if I find something weird and fun for you and buy it and give it to you for no real reason, if I offer to lend you money, if my kids feel comfortable hugging you, if when I see you I kiss your face and tell you how pretty you look and if I tell you things I might even be too afraid to think alone.

Until then, you don’t know me via the computer anymore than you know Kate Winslet or Clive Owen because you read about them and see pictures of their house and kids.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 21, 2011 2:01 am

    “Until then, you don’t know me via the computer anymore than you know Kate Winslet or Clive Owen because you read about them and see pictures of their house and kids.”

    Isn’t that the truth. I wonder when people will stop expecting “reading my blog” equating to “knowing every intimate detail about me.”

Leave a Reply

