Skip to content

It takes hours to wash my underwear

December 19, 2010

It’s crazy to think that I had to drive 40 minutes to do my laundry. It does answer any questions as to why I have so many pairs of underpants and socks. In the summer it was only possible to go about every three weeks or so to the laundromat in Orleans. I loved that place. I remember the first time I ever saw it. I had never in my life done laundry at a laundromat and now I can’t remember how I washed my clothes before I moved away from Baltimore. (scratches drunken head and peers into memory…um. Nothing.)

It had a decently large parking lot and I always wanted to bring wine and cheese and a book while my clothes, our clothes washed and dried but never did for fear of driving drunk or getting to sleepy to fold our mountains of clothes.

You can stuff a lot into a big washer and I got to be  a mad scientist when it came to fastest drying time when dividing up the clothes to dry. T-shirts, underwear and socks together. Jeans separate. Towels separate. There was a certain zen to sorting, washing, dividing, folding all those hot clothes, burning your hands on the buttons and then stuffing them all into the car clean that gave some sort of satisfaction.

I could have washed them at the Bradford but, ew. No. It was the trip, down the Cranberry Highway, past my favorite look out place of BlackFish Pond to the rotary of Orleans. Sitting outside smoking and waiting for my hot laundry to finish so I could stuff it inside D’s Trooper that was his college graduation present and then later our Saturn… the first new car either of us would own for long while.

Holding up my white jeans, that use to be Erma’s, folding D’s t-shirts and boxers. Putting it into the army duffel bag and white laundry sacks. Towels, socks, dog toys, underwear. It was like I could wash and fold my whole entire domestic life into a few bags. I prefered to do it alone. It was faster, more therapeutic, More zen.

Alone, at the laundry mat I could smoke, read and sit on the wooden benches, my face in the sun until I could drive by BlackFish Pond again and know that I was half-way home.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2010 1:01 pm

    I do like the wine and cheese idea….
    Each load costs me $1.25…. usually socks and works uniforms, I work with pesticides
    trick I used a used a few years ago, don’t wear underwear, therefore you don’t need to wash them…
    Neo

  2. December 19, 2010 2:12 pm

    hmmm. Going underwearless is kinda gross. Dudes can do commando in a more, um, hmm, um, less secretionless way?

    Neo, I love that you comment but where on earth did you come from? Do I know you bloggywise from another time/blog? Long time reader, second time commentor? hmmm.

Leave a Reply

