Skip to content

Detour to the present: Holiday Shopping

December 19, 2010

“Spawn, stay with us, move away from the Legos. Come on. Keep up…. (wahwahwahblahblahblah…) , SPAWN!” tired mother yells.

“Okokok. COMING!” mutters “ican’tevenlookatanythingthatIwanttoandofcoursetheywon’tbuymeanythingIwant…” Spawn says to (wink) himself.

“I can hear you, you know. I can. I hear you complaining. I don’t care. Move along.” Mother says. Mother squints with the evil eye at offending child.

“Look at this. Its NAILPOLISH. LOOK. Its PINK. And PURPLE.” in excitement Chica knocks over a whole display.

Mother says, “Stop touching things. Stop it. Put it down. Please help me pick these up.”

sigh

Chica and Spawn together begin a unintelligable rant regarding items they want. I tune the them out and select a matching but gender appropriate gift for two small people I know. Chica sees the gift and starts to cry. In the store. About presents for other people. Spawn sees this opportunity to stop and browse, losing the group. Again.

“Chica, pull it together. STOP CRYING.” mother shouts cause that always stops the crying. “STOP IT. DON’T CRY!”

sigh.

Father takes small Chica away to find laundry detergent for the family.

Mother closes her eyes and for the 2,437th time this year thinks of running away. From all of them.

Two things occur to her.

1. The year is almost over and maybe I can start again and try to not hate them for small moments next year.

2.The children smell delicious and are soft and small and tell me they love me despite the fact that I yell and am short-tempered and generally am crabby and unpleasant.

Its  new year soon. Shopping is all done. Liquor is always at the store.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbi permalink
    December 21, 2010 7:36 pm

    I definitely spend too much time on fb, I wanted to “like” this post.

Leave a Reply

