Skip to content

Too busy to walk past the lions

December 14, 2010

There is a thermometer in the tiny kitchen and it usually says over 100 degrees. There is a 6 foot by 3 foot space where two women stand-one armed with a scaldingly hot bacon grease coated spatula and the other  a 6 inch chef knife. Its an OCD kitchen and so well-organized its borderline clinically wack-o but it works and I like to work clean so its okay.

I make flowers out of sliced strawberries and write fuck-you in mustard on the bread when I make ham and cheese sandwiches. I burn a lot of toast. So much, right in a row one morning that my boss/owner/chef calculates how much money I have wasted continuing to butter toast I kept meaning to leave dry. It was 12 slices in a row I buttered by accident and I think she calculated that cost about $1.18. She was a tad obsessive.

I ride my bike to work in the morning. Sit outside by the #10 cans of tomato waiting to be recycled, empty jugs of milk, lids and containers of feta and sour cream and smoke before work. I like leaving work at 4 pm and go swimming at the breakwater if I can hit the right tide.

Life is busy, hectic, filled with work, drinking, playing pool, sleeping, sex, changing my hair color, sewing, reading, bike riding, swimming and food. There is not much that crosses my mind that weighs me down other than the length of my bangs, if I look too fat, if I have remembered to take my birth control pill and whose turn it is to do the dishes.

I have a very deep life.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 11:00 pm

    Excuse me, did you say SEX? 🙂

    • December 14, 2010 11:07 pm

      Hmmm. Yes sex. I have always kept journals so I can remember stuff. Sex while thin and drunk mind you. Hot stuff

Leave a Reply

