Skip to content

Lingering

June 26, 2010

I practice shutting out what is unpleasant and difficult to deal with. Usually my theory on such issues is to beat a dead horse but lately my theory is just dust off my hands, turn around and keep walking-far far far away. It’s that glancing over my shoulder that is killing me. It would be so great, I would be so strong if I just stepped ahead and only looked forward.

Maybe, the only good part, could be that the things I am still persistently thinking of are existing unawares, twiddling their thumbs-petulantly wondering where the hell I have gone.

Or not.

Can you forget something that has already forgotten you? Is something meaningful even if the reflection is not returned? Sometimes, some things linger when they shouldn’t. They linger when it’s just a nuisance and tiresome. They linger around to remind you of how little it actually all means. They linger because all important people places and things leave an indelible impression and that covering can’t be shed like  yesterdays underpants.

I made my bed, I’ll lie in it and all I do is toss and turn.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2010 2:36 pm

    I can relate to this… so well. Beautifully written.

  2. Amy permalink
    July 6, 2010 5:50 pm

    I’ve never thought about things lingering because they weren’t meant to mean much. It makes me wonder then how/why do we let them take up our mental energy? It would be easier to let them go but they hang on like fruit flies buzzing around you. Hmm….I think you’ve gotten inside my head a bit here….or maybe I’m inside yours? Maybe we’re in the same place but years about like in that so-bad-its-good-movie The Lakehouse. Hmmmmm…..I feel on the same plain here as you….I just wish I could see you here.

    • July 7, 2010 3:40 am

      Loveliest girl. Come visit. Kisses and hugs and you are just swell and great. Xxxx

      Sent from my iPod

  3. July 7, 2010 11:13 pm

    Very thoughtful.

Leave a Reply

