Skip to content

a heart too small

April 23, 2010

My heart is too small. I can’t fit things like the memory of the ones I love and miss inside of it. I stash it in my colon, spleen and liver. I can hide it in my tears which are wasted on them because they are lost.

My heart is too small. I can’t carry things like forgiveness and trust inside it. Upon my shoulders are things like anger and resentment. I stoop with their burden but can’t seem to shed it.

My heart is too small. I don’t harbor sentiment and contentment. I wear them on my sleeve that I push up to my elbows.

My heart is too small for all of the ideas inside my head.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 1:30 am

    Love this tremendously.

  2. April 24, 2010 3:21 pm

    thanks. thanks. thanks. all this damn spring sunshine is making me pissy

Leave a Reply

