Skip to content

Last time that I saw you it was dark I remember that you don’t believe me

March 26, 2010

Walking fast, pulling my jacket tighter around me my forehead bows to the wind tearing my eyes whipping my hair into my mouth, my steps quicken making my ankle wobble on a loose stone. Lamplight shines like the beat in my head-one one thousand,two one thousand, three. Noise from the street sounds closer and louder as the busy road appears before me and I step out onto it, turning the corner and walking up the hill.

Leaves leap out in front of the path, stirred up as each car races by making the green light. Bites of conversation, no shared glances in the crowd waiting for the bus on the bench. Music in someone elses head seeps out through an open window catching my ear then going out of the other.

Strands of hair stick to my lips and I brush it away, behind my ear. Walking on heels sinking into the shoe-gravity holding me down I resist the urge to raise my arms stretching my fingertips to the sky.

If I were a bird, I’d fly far far far away.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2010 10:20 pm

    This is amazing and the music selection goes so well while reading. I had to catch my breath at the end. Thanks for the compelling words, and also for introducing this artist. I just downloaded the album.

  2. March 29, 2010 1:33 am

    Fink is amazing yes? you should youtube the video for this song, as a new yorker. its . incredible.

    you are such a kind supporter and today, as on many days-but most especially today, thank you.
    xx

Leave a Reply

