Skip to content

Trouble

September 28, 2009

For those of you not my friend on facebook… I will share with you a bit of conversation I had with my son over the weekend. Friday was a Professional Development Day for public schools in our city and the day spent at home was a joy for all to behold.

After a million exhalations of “WHATAREWEDOING???I’MBORRRREEEDDD.” and one of my personal favorites,”CAN’TWEWATCHSOMETHING????ITCANBEWHATYOUWANTTTTTTT…..” I was puttering around and trying to clean up the joint. Housewifey shit I live for.

Spawn, for reasons not entirely clear, must sit on the couch reading surrounded by a menagerie of doodads,toys, treasures and junk. Or as I like to call it, “ALL YOUR SHIT.”

So I ask him for the hundredth time to pick up his stuff and he ignores me so I say loudly (der), “PICK UP YOUR SHIT!” Spawn responds, “Don’t call it shit.” Mama says, “Hey don’t say shit!” Spawn replies, “Well, then don’t call it shit.” Mama says, “STOP saying shit!” Spawn squints at me and says, “Its legos, not shit.” and walks away in a huff.

Parent 0

Kid 1

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 11, 2009 2:03 pm

    I HATE the “LOL” trend, but this actually *did* make me laugh out loud. Sadly my husband and your kid have something in common (sad because my husband is a grown man) and he also has to be surrounded by his SHIT at all times, ESPECIALLY for some reason while reading on the couch.
    Also – I’ve been backlogged on my blog reading, but will be adding you to my blogroll now. Hope you are doing well!

Leave a Reply

