Skip to content

If you could read my mind love, what a tale my thoughts would tell

September 25, 2009

It seems to me that instead of becoming more plain and explicit, life just gets, as you get older, more complicated and mysterious. In my twenties everything was so immediate. So black and white. So right or wrong. So will I or won’t I. So leisurely and vast.

As my universe gets larger my world has become smaller and smaller. So tiny I have to stand like a flamingo most days alternating on one foot. Or like a horse who can only rest one leg at a time. I can’t sleep and wake up often to be surprised that I am still here. Still here. Where I am. Where I have always been, it seems.

There is a quiet comfort in the devils you know. In the beginning those devils are the miracles you slide into your pocket, take out and wear around your neck in the sunshine.

Shiny, is everyone’s favorite color.

PS. a prize will go to whomever can name the song title I am ripping off without googling it. Honesty now.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2009 4:57 pm

    That’s one of my favorite songs… Gordon Lightfoot.

  2. September 25, 2009 8:27 pm

    Oh – that gorgeous anthem of Lightfoot’s – Just can’t get it back… G

  3. Trip permalink
    September 25, 2009 9:07 pm

    I liked Johnny Cash’s version as well šŸ™‚

  4. September 25, 2009 11:48 pm

    I am sorry K…you googled it dude.

    G…yes.

    Trip, well howdy. I don’t think I know you and am SUCH a fan of emoticons…..Cash version? Hmmm. intriguing. xx

  5. September 26, 2009 5:30 pm

    Love that song.
    Love this post.

  6. September 29, 2009 12:43 pm

    no googling involved. swear. We had just played all the GL hits for my CEO last Friday, so that was fresh in my mind. I also think we had an 8 track with Read My Mind, Sundown and The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald.

  7. October 15, 2009 7:33 am

    I saw Gordon Lightfoot in concert many years ago, and it was just him and his guitar on a stool center stage for two hours. It was one of the best concerts I’ve ever been to.

Leave a Reply

