Skip to content

Sprung

April 21, 2009

Its sunny and our basement is not flooding which is a miracle due to the strangely obsessive way my husband is mortaring our basement stone walls trying to keep out the water that threatens to pick our house and float it away. Spring is such a strange mix of bright colors and gray skies, petulant like a certain small pig of a girl I know. Pig is meant affectionately in case you were wondering. My house is dirty due to the clay and much that seems to dry and float upwards to land and settle on all of our possessions like a blanket reminding me that I am not a good housekeeper. Cleaning is just so unrewarding because it all just gets dirty again, no matter how hard I try.

The playroom is still neat as a pin because I think the kids are afraid to mess it up which is nice for a change. Our daughter continue to rock her wardrobe like a hurricane and leaves bits of clothing around the house like Hansel and Gretel dropped bread crumbs except she is already home and does not have to find her way. You can tell where our son has taken up roost in the house because next to a giant pile  of books lay his favorite Bakugans and Pokemon cards which when he isn’t quietly reading is all he talks about and is not deterred when we tell him talking about Bakugan and Pokemon are literally the most boring things in the world and I don’t care if one has 20 damage or has grass energy. ggaaahhhhh. Just thinking about it makes me want to poke myself in the eye with a sharp stick.

I feel so antsy waiting for summer to come. We have so many plans of friends visiting, maybe a roommate for a short time and camping! oh camping! again this summer at our favorite beachy place. I want to enjoy the spring but I just feel like I do when I go out to dinner at a nice restaurant-anxiously waiting for the next course and not really enjoying  the plate in front of me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Heidi permalink
    April 23, 2009 12:36 pm

    We have the same problem with our basement. We need to work on fixing that. I think we have to somehow caulk with cement the perimeter of our house. I would love to know how you guys are tackling the water in the basement.

Leave a Reply

