Skip to content

Flesh and bone

October 9, 2008

Driving around today, driving past the same bustop we see a cat begging for food and rubbing up against people.Which is kind of weird. The first time we think, oh maybe he followed his owner to the bus stop..but no. Later on I see him almost get hit and not move from the road. I get out and attempt to move him off to the side but when I get him he is limp and literally just a skeleton of an animal. He is so sweet and obviously starving to death as I look at him. I can feel every single bone and his hips feel like sharp shards of glass. He is obviously someones house cat who can not find his own food and only knows to beg for food like  a dog. I bring him home not to the delight of my husband and to be fair, neither of us really wants another cat but I couldn’t just leave him there. I fed him and washed him and put him in our powder room to dry. He is affectionate, purrs like machinery and is litter trained. I have a sucker all lined up in case it doesn’t work out (thanks Courtney!) and for the next week, he will eat, sleep and be fawned over by my darling Chica.

After brushing her teeth she says to me  grinning shyly, “Mama, doesn’t the handsome boy need a name?” I say, “Well baby, we are just keeping him for a little bit..I don’t know honey. Why, what do you have in mind?”

She says, “Flesh”

I say, “Really, Flesh?”  She shakes her head yes and tells me “Its pretty and he doesn’t have much right?”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2008 1:13 pm

    OH! It is pretty! What a clever kid!

  2. tapc permalink
    October 13, 2008 2:34 am

    What a big heart you have. Wouldn’t it be nice if more people reached out to help others (animals and humans) just like you have.
    xo

Leave a Reply

