Skip to content

Curly hair a crooked tooth

July 14, 2008

Out of thin air I invent a new me for my new me life on boats and yachts and things. I change my name, alternately speak in a pseudo english accent to random people and start to really drink a lot. I think it makes me look tough although its hard to look touch vomiting but clarity is not really a strong point at that time.

I meet you in a local pub in Camden where I am taking a break from the assholes that are on the boat I live on now. I am drinking white wine and eating clam chowder. We start to talk because I am reading a book you just finished. We chat and exchange the normal amount of getting to know you information except much of what I divulge are lies as I try out which girl I think want to be. You have an old ChrisCraft boat and are restoring it as you live on it. We talk about sailing and you are the captain of a traditionally rigged boat and are just thing I think I am looking for. We have one night together and then I sail away from Camden but we write and keep in touch. Or I think I write..I don’t remember if you ever do and I forget about you.

Until you show up in Key West and ask around for me. You ask for my new name for myself…and describe me. People are wide eyed when I get on board having missed your arrival and I know that I have been caught in some lies and I will never see you again. I don’t see you but I still appreciate your awkward looks, darkly tanned sailing skin and your small gold hoop that lore assures will attain you a proper burial if you wash up on shore somewhere. You might have been the first clue to what my new life has might become and that it would be okay to invent myself and that meant figuring out who I wanted to be.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tyson Koska permalink
    July 15, 2008 12:38 pm

    What I like about the tone of many of these “boy” snippets, and which I also find quite disturbing, is how disconnected and spectator-like you seem to have been in your own life…

    I don’t know if anyone has published a series of shorts about x-lovers—maybe memoir fashion instead of veiled fiction—but it seems to me that breaking them up cleanly (as you have done in your blog) along with yourself as “observer” to your own life… well, that would bring together form and the function of the thing in a delicious way… o, and also the writing is quite good…

  2. July 15, 2008 2:06 pm

    Yes…the writing is quite good. And it is bringing me back in time to remember young love fondly….and not so fondly…

Leave a Reply

