Skip to content

naturally, I had been drinking

July 10, 2008

Its blurry. That moment that we met but as the evening unfolded I remember because I wrote it down as it occurred. I think I was playing pool and I am sure some sort of cocktail was involved as I was newly 21. And very tan from my stint in Florida. My tiny just-room-to-walk-around the bed place was dimly lit and you sat in a chair smug, with your arms crossed hassling me because I was writing down our conversation in my blue journal. You hold up your hand with its stamp that shows you paid to get in and tell me they are passports to the underworld, or something similarly clever. I am impressed with your wit although you seem kind of pissy and I am not sure why you are back at my place because you don’t seem to really like me. You seem like an arrogant prick. You seem bored and as though you have made a terrible mistake but don’t have anything better to do. But you are funny and are charming and I am curious. You leave and I wonder what you are about. I change. Get ready for bed and to work herding small human vermin around all day and there is a knock at my door. I literally have no idea who it could be.

Its you, at the door smiling at me and telling me you really just wanted to kiss me goodnight. I am surprised and I think that was your plan. But its charming and we kiss in the light of the parking lot reflected on my dingy wooden front porch. And then you turn around and say, thats all. That was all you wanted to say.

And that was all you had to say.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2008 8:23 am

    Were you really a small human herder?
    Like the story.

  2. July 10, 2008 4:56 pm

    I love all your memories and the stories they produce. Like traveling through time.

Leave a Reply

