Skip to content

Just like you said it would be

June 21, 2008

My phone rings at 10pm and its a school night and he says, come see my new car. I say, I can see it in the daylight and its a school night. He says, come on, don’t be like that. Oh come on already. I am going to be outside, downstairs in your parking lot at 12 midnight and you have to come and see my new car. I say, who cars about cars? He says, I do and come see it. Meet me, you know you want to. I say, I’ll get in trouble and that will suck because she will ground me and I will never see your new car again. He says, just be downstairs and stop arguing with me. and then he hangs up. I put on my t-shirt I sleep in and his boxer shorts I stole and read until midnight. I wait 10 more minutes just to see if he’ll wait. He does. We sit in his car and then we drive around the block. I am still not impressed. Who gives a shit about a car? whatever. Not whatever, its COOL. he tells me twice. We kiss. We smoke. We talk. Its late and I am sleepy because tomorrow is school then work after. We say goodnight and he drives off in his new car and I wonder did he just want some excuse to see me or was I really supposed to be impressed with his new car? I climb the stairs to my apartment, one flight, two flights, three and ease open the door and close it quietly behind me. Go to the kitchen to get an alibi in case my mother wakes up. I take my alibi back to my room and write in my journal before I fall asleep thinking how will I ever have enough time to shower and do my hair if I sleep in?

4 Comments
  1. June 21, 2008 5:51 pm

    just to see you, methinks

  2. June 22, 2008 2:41 am

    You’re back! I thought you were gone for good. Very dramatic exit. I’m glad it was only temporary.

  3. June 25, 2008 8:01 pm

    It’s been a few days, lady. Where’ve you been?

  4. Tyson Koska permalink
    July 15, 2008 12:32 pm

    I wish I could remember WHICH car this was…

Comments are closed.