Skip to content

Turning, turning

May 16, 2008

Riding in the car does it every time. I don’t know whether it is the repetitive motion that lulls me into a mindless/mindfull state or it is just that I can turn up the radio and not pay attention to anyone but myself. Maybe it is lure of being a vehicle and the possibilties that I could just drive away. Maybe because your car feels more private. You know, like how most people pick their noses at redlights oblivious to the fact that you can see through glass and you are like, 2 feet away from someone. I guess people just bank on the fact that people are in the zone of being in a car. Your own isolated island of ownership.

But, I digress.

I am not really thinking of nose picking. I am not really all that into my car. Its like your car radio is pyschic and every single song reminds you of the thing you are trying not to think about.

I wish I could digress.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2008 12:18 am

    I’m right there with you. I keep telling myself to let go of that which I’m trying not to think about. Stupid car.

  2. May 17, 2008 12:55 pm

    It gets me every time I head out on my own for a couple of hours of child-free shopping. I’m so excited before I leave yet within minutes of getting into that time machine I find myself transported to another place and time. The imprint music can leave on your mind is amazing.

  3. May 17, 2008 9:22 pm

    It’s like powers beyond your control want you to keep thinking about them.

  4. May 17, 2008 10:22 pm

    It’s the best psychiatrist in the world. It just keeps bringing back to you the thing you are avoiding, the thing you must deal with (but have no answer to).

Leave a Reply

