Skip to content

Good manners bear

April 13, 2008

Spawn was sweaty and dirty and wrestled like a pig in mud playing keep away or tag or kick ball or some combination there of with the other bigger boys at the party. At one point, a friend who tends to be very physical and injury people and doesn’t feel the need or desire to say sorry because “it was an accident and not on purpose…” bonked Spawn in the eye with ball really hard. Using the ball like a hammer really and smacking him good upside the head. Spawn’s face is all red and his eye is all watery and he is kind of crying. I ask him what happened and other boy just keeps saying, “I didn’t do it on purpose. It was an accident. I didn’t do it on purpose. I didn’t do it on purpose….” and looking guilty and freaked. Spawn tired of the drone of excuses reaches out to hug his friend who just stands there backing away from him and says, “Its all right, next time maybe you should be a big more careful because someone, well me, could hurt their eye. You are my good friend and its okay.” as friend still stands there not knowing how to hug it out and still insisting he isn’t in trouble because it was just an accident he took the ball in his hand and smashed Spawn in the face with it.

I was standing with another guest who says, “Well, you can tell which kid is being raised kindly.” I think to myself and say to her, I don’t want to take all the credit…I think Spawn is just a righteous loving little guy. He is usually filled with kindness and justice for all. Even when Chica is being horrible to me and screaming he will get so mad at me if I yell at her when she is crying and tell me I am acting like I don’t love her because, “Can’t you see how much she needs you?”. and then I feel very small indeed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 16, 2008 4:33 am

    Do you believe in arranged marriages? Because I have a few kids I could offer for Spawn- boy, girl , take your pick… đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

