Skip to content

Clinical is inspiring

April 11, 2008

At my new job I think I have lost sight of why I want to be a nurse. I started my CCU clinical today in earnest and it was an awesome first day. I charted. I did two physical assessments. Neuro checks. AND…(drum roll) I extubated my patient. WIth help and assistance. It was pretty awesome. I hung mini-bags, calculated drips, injected drugs subcutaneously and crushed meds and delivered an OG tube. Total nursy awesomeness. And I got my information for my first NPA, I take my vile Cardiovascular exam Wednesday and maybe I won’t quit work.

I have cake to eat. Time to study this weekend and feel like SUPER NURSE, able to give you a foley and you wouldn’t even feel it. I swear.

x

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2008 12:27 am

    Does a foley go in your butt? I’m just checkin’ in case someone asks me at a bar or at the pool.

  2. April 12, 2008 12:53 pm

    If I ever need one I’ll be sure to call you….and what an interesting party trick that could be. Hmmm…..

  3. April 12, 2008 1:46 pm

    I’d like to have my own private nurse. If I wasn’t feeling ill, I’d send her coconut-picking with the other females.

  4. April 13, 2008 2:43 am

    But suppose I WANT to feel you giving me my foley? Then what, huh?

  5. gino permalink
    April 14, 2008 2:21 am

    Is getting a foley that you can’t even feel worth the trouble?

    I’m pretty sure I don’t want to know what a foley is, but I’m also pretty sure that you are going to inform me…

Leave a Reply

