Skip to content

Poof!

March 2, 2008

I swear the time has flown and each moment has been a wonder. Some have also been scary. Some have also been magical. Some have been a giant pain in the ass. Through it all I love and adore him more than I ever thought I could love another human being. Trite and cliche, yea, yea, yea.

After my mother died it occurred to me that I must have a baby. We tried the old fashioned way and poof! like magic I grew a little tiny penis inside my uterus. I knew he was a boy long before they told me. All those scary moments in the hospital and waiting it out at home hoping he would not come too soon. That perfect little O of his mouth and the silence as he contemplated my first words to him in the outside world. His tiny little blond chicken fluff head. His scrawny alien body that I thought would never grown. Measuring his progress with how my thumb and forefinger could fit around his upper arm and thigh. Looking at him nursing as a tiny little man whose head was smaller than my smallish breast. His loving and silly laugh. His kisss. His warm fuzzy good smell that lurks in his neck. So boyish and long and lovely and perfect.

He is proof to me that although things might look terrible you have to have hope and the best intentions for things to work them selves out. His toothless smile. He read an entire book yesterday and today. His brain is on fire and I am lucky to witness his imagination catching on to the world finding his own piece of reality and fantasy.

All together now, Happy Birthday my dearest sweet Spawn.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2008 4:22 pm

    Happy Birthday, gorgeous boy! We love you!

  2. TracyAnn permalink
    March 2, 2008 4:44 pm

    And Happy Birthday to you too, Mom!!!

  3. March 2, 2008 7:31 pm

    Happy birthday, Spawny Spawnerson! So glad you’re around to make your Mom laugh, cry and wince. 🙂

  4. March 3, 2008 6:07 am

    That kid of yours cracks me up. Hope he had an awesome birthday.

    L

Leave a Reply

