Skip to content

Do you hear it too?

February 26, 2008

This psych rotation is making me nuts.

Well, more nuts than I all ready am. I swear I am hearing things. I think I have a personality disorder but I think if you are aware that you have one you probably don’t. Thinking it is everyone else and NOT you is the hallmark of mental illness in many ways. I am sure I am mentally ill but perhaps more high functioning. I swear I have diagnosed at least 3 of my friends/family and feel they should seek help immediately. YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE.

It is the hearing things that is making all freaked out. That tape we were forced to listen to of what auditory hallucinations sounds like really freaked me out. I think I am past the window of psychotic break for schizophrenia at almost 37 (yes, it is my birthday soon…presents can be sent to my home address) but goodness. I think I hear whispery things. Chirpy noises. And footsteps.

But then again it could just be my radiators hissing. Birds. And small child-like things stomping around my house.

OR IT COULD ALL JUST BE IN MY HEAD.

This rotation has made me wonder even more what is real and what is not and what it is exactly that is reality and how can we prove it? My brain is about to split into tiny little pieces and I need it for tomorrows exam. bleck.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2008 3:26 am

    ok, lay it on me. What do I have?

  2. gino permalink
    February 29, 2008 12:30 am

    Is Pat Benetar one of the voices you hear frequently?

    I’d send you her greatest hits compilation, but I suspect you already have it………..if not actually, then in your crowded house of a head.

Leave a Reply

