Skip to content

Even him

February 7, 2008

So I am in Psych rotation and LOVE it. I LOVE the clients so much. I had the best day ever and this is totally what I want to do. I wanted to take them all home with me and care for them forever. So, a few funny things happened in the milieu…

Today was kind of a shitty day, meaning that a couple of people actually shit themselves which is a bummer. At one point a client looked over at me and said, “HEY, hey…do YOU smell shit?” I answer yes because she might have thought it a hallucination as people can smell things that are not there. When I say yes she says to me in a doubtful tone, ” It smells bad, right?” I agree.

THEN the other guy that shit himself while we were all out a cheap discount store and then asks me later in the day room, “HEY, do you wear protective underwear?” I respond, “That is kind of personal, don’t you think?” He pauses and smiles and then looks down and says, “YEA. But I still want to know.”

Truly it was a magical day. Funny. Sweet. Strange. Sad and wonderful. I really love these people and find them so interesting and dear. I sat down with one gentleman who had tried a couple of times to get my attention to talk and had the nicest conversation. At one point I ask him what is the reason that he comes to this adult day care facility that I will not name here and he replies with a twinkle of doubt and surprise in his face, “Um, well, I have psychiatric issues…” The only thing missing from the end of that sentence was “DUH, bitch…why else would I be here?” So funny but we can’t assume things and it is good for the clients to tell us in their own words why and what they do there. When I asked him if he was ever hospitalized he says also with a look of…um, shouldn’t you know this? and says, “Well I heard voices and they were really loud you see so I went to the hospital.” again, I felt only , DUH.

And so now even my other guy in group, when we discussed the election and the primary elections this tuesday, remarked that he…” didn’t understand how all these damn people can spend like millions of dollars on the election and there are like a dozen of them right? and they are supposed to want to be president to help people but they are spending millions of dollars on themselves and they don’t even want to help the homeless or the hungry.” I am nodding like a maniac cause WASN’T I JUST SAYING THIS, LIKE YESTERDAY? I swear my brain went CLANGCLANGCLANG and then he looks at me and says, “And that asshole we got now he doesn’t know shit” I say amen and yes. If he smelled a little better I might have hugged him. Okay so even the mentally challenged man in the adult day care facility knows what a crock this is. OMGosh.

I am so grateful for their time and sharing today. Seriously I think this is the most fabulous thing EVER.

Am I crazy?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2008 11:56 pm

    No, you are not crazy, Cole – you are humanizing people who are generally thought of badly, if thought about at all. I’m glad you liked your experience in this day-care centre. All people respond to genuine-ness, and you have plenty of it. G

  2. February 8, 2008 12:08 am

    Thank you and thank you.

    It was so awesome. Really. I want to go back tomorrow. Luckily I do…have clinical just somewhere else. It is so cool. The best. I adore them.

    I have heard though that you have to be a little bit crazy to work in psych so I might just fit right in.
    x

  3. February 8, 2008 2:52 pm

    Hmmm…well if you can’t be em, join em? Ok that was in poor taste but I would say that people who are different are always a little scary but taking the time and effort to get to know them can be enlightening. I’m glad you had a good time and perhaps its good for all of us to put on a little crazy now and then.

  4. February 8, 2008 8:55 pm

    I’m glad you had a nice time. Psych was good fun, plus you can actually make a difference unlike shipping the patients in and out in med-surg.

    I’m totally going into the Prison to work. I love it, just like you do this. It’s refreshing when you have that ‘aha’ moment when you actually realize what you want to do.

  5. gino permalink
    February 9, 2008 4:05 am

    So, the question begs:

    Who is actually “crazy” and who is literally “sane”….

    Just askin’….

  6. joefelso permalink
    February 10, 2008 1:30 pm

    It’s great to hear such happiness in you “voice.” Seems to me the people on the outside are more likely to see the truth than the people so surrounded by illusion they’ve ceased to recognize it. At least they can identify the smell of shit—sometimes, I think we’ve stopped noticing.

  7. February 13, 2008 6:17 pm

    Crazy? Yes. But in a good way.

    says the complete stranger who only “knows” you through your blog…

  8. gina permalink
    February 17, 2008 12:00 am

    i too love working with this population–especially the older folks, they are so wise in many ways, and often so gentle and supportive with others. i’m so glad you love it!!! i’m taking off spring break week so let’s try to get together at some point, k?
    miss you
    xx

Leave a Reply

