Skip to content

Maybe it is a little about survival

January 30, 2008

So there is this election thing and primary thing and candidates and shit. It all swirls around in my head because I firmly believe that whoever would want this job is definitely not worth voting for anyway so its a crap shoot.

I think about all the reasons I would love for Hilary to win. All the reasons for Barack to win. All the reasons that Mike Huckabee makes me involuntarily throw up in my mouth a little bit and how John McCain might not be horrible if he wins.

Then I think about all the millions and millions and millions and millions of dollars being spent on the primary campaign. It seems ludicrous. Unnecessary and bloated. Why can’t we just elect people. They can all run. Just like they do in other countries. Our system is so cumbersome that by the time the election, the actual one where a president is elected is elected, ahem, who gives a flying fuck because they all suck so much anyway and they have been doing nothing but sucking for the year leading up to who ever gets to run. So I say, let them all just run for goshs sake. Hell, for petes sake while we are at it. Sheesh. Just run. Spend a month thumpin your side, who gives a crap about what they think of in New Hampshire? Or South Carolina? They voted for Jesse Helms so why on EARTH would they be a factor in anything to do with our government. bleck.

I then think of all the other countries who have already elected women presidents and prime ministers. Countries that have already elected a person of color to their highest office. SOMETIMES IT IS  A WOMAN AND A PERSON OF COLOR in other countries. But not ours because we are so, um, well, hm. What is our reason anyway? I mean other than the obvious that our country is run  by a  bunch of bigoted assholes and the only people who vote are the assholes. Are there other reasons why? Anyone?

And they say that we are the super power. The super power of what? The super power of suck. We suck. That is pretty much it. Our solutions so far are shooting and killing, giving random petty amounts of money to individuals and paying kids that get bad grades.

I think maybe we got settled on a bad road. We Americans came to this country, to the harsh reality that is western MA and tried to survive. The settlers of our country have been just trying to survive ever since. The Greeks and Romans appreciated life and lived it and found time to invent art, language, empirship and beauty. We were still wearing wool slacks and fucking the sheep because the women kept dying. We are surviving and so who can be creative when you are just trying to survive.

So that is me now. Just trying to survive the super power of suck.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. gino permalink
    January 31, 2008 1:47 am

    Wow, Cole. Get outta my head!

    Spot on analysis in my book (that I haven’t written yet!).

    I just read today that the candidates, combined, will spend $1 billion trying to become King Dick of the Super Power of Suck. What the hell does that say?

    I wonder how many people could be fed, educated, and taken care of medically for that staggering amount?!

    And yes, war is the answer for everything regarding the Super Power of Suck. And then after the war, they give out ridiculously lucrative, no contest bids to privatize the “enemies” businesses for obscene profit. It makes the conspiracy theorist in me question the true intentions of war.

    I like the idea of having a woman or person of color as president for the first time in US history. It just boggles my mind that it’s 2008 and we are having this conversation.

    Alright, I’m done. Sorry for the long post…

  2. January 31, 2008 3:17 am

    “surviving the power of suck” – to my mind, that’s the absolutely best place to start as a creative person. If you start from there, you KNOW you’re taking on the mountain. keep at it, kiddo – the thing don’t get beat if nobody do the beatin’

  3. January 31, 2008 2:03 pm

    The Superpower of Suck. That is such an apropos description…

  4. January 31, 2008 4:11 pm

    Saying those words, the super power of suck, frankly turns me on a little. What a shame that the meaning behind the words is so, so, SO depressing.

    And for real, doesn’t Huckabee sound like a synonym for dingleberry? Seriously?

  5. January 31, 2008 10:34 pm

    Super power of the superbowl, maybe. I’ve never looked, but I bet more people watch the superbowl than vote.

    And it’s just sad that when I think about the top two contenders for the job- just cuz they are both democrats- I try to imagine who America is going to vote for- a woman or a black man? Frankly, I don’t have much faith in America. Which, I think is part of the reason I was looking towards Edwards, plus I just liked him better. Not smarmy and has experience, you know?

Leave a Reply

