Skip to content

I love all my friends husbands

December 27, 2007

I know how that sounds. So what. I do. I admit it. I love them. I think they are a bunch of lovely, sweet, silly and smart men and I adore them. Some I know more than others and so ergo (hat tip Debbi…odd word use!) I love them even more.

Like Keith. He is ridiculously smart, he blushes easily and is a guy I can really relate to as he is much like my own man–quiet but not shy, a raucous sense of humor, will go for the zing every time so watch how many stupid things you do in  an hour or you will be feeling as dumb as you have been acting and most of all he is a loving partner and father. He adores his wife and children and it shows. He is worshipped at his house and his aura is so powerful that the twins can sense he is home while he is still in the driveway, kind of like dogs. Oh wait. They have dogs who are kind of stupid. Well, like dogs you can imagine only cuter and don’t shit on the floor. COUGHhermionieCOUGH.

AND like Thom. He is smart and silly and can garden like an old woman from Mobile AL. He cooks, he cooks the food they grow and is lovely and devoted and his children look eerily like him. Kind of like a clone and it would be creepy if you didn’t know them but I do so it isn’t really creepy. Thom has had one of those Lifetime Movie Network lives but isn’t some shmuck who is all pissy and demented about it. Well, he is a little demented but in a fun way. Wait, I generally like demented. Yes, he is demented and I like him a lot.

AND Mikel. He is crazy. Like certifiable. Well, being a rock-n-roll superstar all your life and then you convert to the next Mick Jagger of the kiddie set and you are almost obligated to be quirky. You can always count on Mikel because he is sincerely wonderful. He has a list of jokes to tell that are either kid friendly (like telling them during his rock shows) or filthy dirty and gross and you wish that little Timmy’s mom in middle white bread america could hear their idol talking now. He is the perfect combination of a man. Cute, fun, engaged and he really listens when you talk..he isn’t just waiting for his turn or waiting for him wife to take him home. Although if I had a wife as hot as Donna I think I would want her to just take me home too. He is really a regular guy, not affected by his fame or fortune and does me the honor of coming to my many parties and makes me look important as some mom I know but doesn’t know I know HIM pulls me into the kitchen to say, “HEY, I didn’t know anyone famous would be here!”

And lastly, because I am tired of typing and I my list could go on so long that I might  be here all day so I am ending it. Maybe to begin the details another day. Who knows. My keys are sticking like a mo’fo because I took them all off my keyboard before xmas to clean it and now they feel funny when I type. Maybe the jam and crumbs were helping after all?

Well, lastly I love my D. He is handsome, still loves me and thinks I am pretty after 15 years. He is a fabulous father and partner and I don’t just hear him tell me he loves me, I feel it. Mostly when he empties the dishwasher or mops the floor, seriously…is there anything hotter? ha. Just joking. kind of. ANYWAY, yes it is lovely to married to a man who can really discuss art and loves antiques and admires your child’s art with an eye like the most sophisticated art teacher. Almost everything of Chica’s is ruined by art projects but she is so into it and the product is usually so much fun to see and hear about the process I don’t even care she ruins the skirt I made her from vintage  fabric. He lets the kids jump on him over and over and closes his eyes when they press their little faces to his and I can see him taking it all in. He is a good cook, good lover and best friend ever. He is snarky like a girlfriend but has the decorum of a man to keep it to himself. He likes to shop and loves clothes although I do wish he would bathe more often. No one is perfect and I think that is what I like most. He is falliable, confused much of the time but I know he is mine and I love him dearly. Treasure him, really.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2007 3:03 am

    awww, shucks. Now I’m blushing. And I did bathe this morning. Yay me.

  2. December 28, 2007 4:08 am

    Keith’s blog made me guffaw and snort. “Suck it, 4 year olds”?! BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    You have an amazing array of friends. I’m definitely signing up as a groupie ASAP.

  3. donna permalink
    December 28, 2007 10:26 pm

    Very sweet to say and true. We really are fortunate to have the hubbies we do.

  4. December 28, 2007 11:13 pm

    If I could, I’d marry all of ’em!

    How lucky I am, though, to be married to one of ’em. My man DOES garden like an old Southern lady, and do you wanna know what else? While other women’s husbands are talking car parts and football, my guy is talking pansies. For real. He’s extremely fond of pansies.

    What a nice tribute to a buncha great guys.

  5. December 28, 2007 11:18 pm

    Aww, now Keith and I are blushing together…wait, not there’s anything goin’ on between us that would make me blush. So what if we’re always in the Swan Lake changing room at the same time!

  6. mikel permalink
    December 29, 2007 4:53 pm

    Laura is right…we should all move to Utah and marry each other. Seriously though, I always thought we guys were the lucky ones. You ladies are beautiful in every way and make me realize how valuable these days are..

  7. December 29, 2007 8:12 pm

    These are valuable days, as Mikel said, sweet and fleeting. It’s wonderful you love so many friends and are loved in return, but here’s where I stop in my tracks: You removed all your computer keys to clean for Christmas? Now that’s something that never occurred to me. Happy New Year!

  8. December 31, 2007 2:01 am

    Who’s up for buying a big lot of land and starting the compound like on Big Love?

Leave a Reply

