Skip to content

Our christmas list

December 19, 2007

1. 60 assorted pieces of hats, scarves, vests and shirts for My Sisters Place, in honor of my friend and her children that were murdered.

2. $25 Susan G. Komen foundation donation in honor of our Aunt Lori who is winning her battle against breast cancer.

3. $25 dollars to the Heartly House in Frederick to help other women like my friend and her children.

4. A share of a Water Buffalo from Heifer International for Kenny because he asked me if you could like, get the ass cheek or something when you donated and he could use a laugh this year.

What are you doing for the holidays ( for others….) ?

For every comment I get on this post I will donate another $2 toward the Heartly House. Please tell me what you are doing and why.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2007 9:21 pm

    $100 to the Ronald McDonald House in Cleveland. It’s in memory of my daughter who passed away from a congenital heart defect when she was 5 months old.

    It truly was a “home away from home.” I will never, ever forget their kindness.

  2. December 19, 2007 9:30 pm

    Doing my best to put into practice the following note my favorite aunt left as her last will:”If someone wishes to give a little something when I pass away, may it be an offering to the significant other. A warm note, chocolate, a rose, a visit, a bit of quality time or another simple but affectionate gesture.”
    My only tweak on her last wishes is to try to expand the concept of “significant other” as much as I can handle.
    Only difference at this time of year is that it’s that much harder to get people to pay attention to the little things – they’re so caught up rushing around to get all the STUFF.

  3. December 20, 2007 2:54 am

    Hanging out in new mexico, resting, hiking, catch a movie, visit friends, organize.

  4. December 20, 2007 7:11 am

    Hanging out with the family, mostly. Oh, and eating. There will be lots and lots of eating.

  5. December 20, 2007 2:25 pm

    oo-oo, I might have started a trend toward saying what I’m doing (not for others). What I’m doing for others:

    -donation to non-profit New Mexico Women’s Foundation (I give to them every year because of poverty in NM, plus only 3% — it might be higher by now — of giving goes to women and children)

    -donation to both my daughter’s schools (with matching funds from where I work) — includes volunteer hours that I put in this year (eeks, I have to fill out the matching grants form before Dec 31)

    -I’ll give a donation to public radio and one to public television, because we listen/watch both and want to support them

    -My husband doesn’t understand why I give to Shriners, but it’s because my favorite uncle used to be a Shriner. I honestly don’t know what they do. It’s completely a donation based on meloncholy for my uncle Pat

    -If in my cleaning and organizing I find really good stuff that I know will fit, I’ll donate it to a family I know; everything else I send to Goodwill. There’s also a place that takes career clothing for women who are getting on their feet and needing to go interview, etc. Unforturnately, I don’t have any suits or anything like that.

  6. Heidi permalink
    December 20, 2007 3:51 pm

    1. Donating to an adopt-a-family (Baltimore City Social Services). We sponsored a family in my office and raised close to $600. We purchased various gifts for the 5 children and gave a grocery store gift card to the Mother.

    2. Donating to an adopt-a-family (Howard County). Each classroom at Malik’s school sponsors a family. We purchased art supplies for the kids and I donated Malik’s 3T snowsuit which he wore one time.

    3. Donating some toys to John’s Hopkins Children center, http://www.hopkinschildrens.org/specialties/categorypages/category.cfm?specialtyID=44&categoryID=28, and finding out how I can volunteer in the coming year. I think you have to go through a training program.

  7. Tivoli permalink
    December 20, 2007 8:29 pm

    I am spending the holidays with my family. First I am driving to 3 hours to Seattle to see the Grandparents and my friend Scarlet then driving back 4 hours or so to the Hoko to my parents house with a stop off in Forks. I plan on eating and being merry.

    Merry Christmas Cole. I will see you soon!

  8. December 20, 2007 9:57 pm

    We are giving all our grown up family members a donation in their name to http://www.donorschoose.org. You can pick a project to help fund a school project. We have not picked a project yet- but I was determined to not give more crap and not buy another blue sweater for my wealthy brother-in-law.

    I also wanted to focus on the USA. Too often we overlook our neighbors…

  9. December 22, 2007 3:39 am

    What am I doing? Loving being with my family and not going to work.

  10. caroline permalink
    December 22, 2007 8:17 pm

    I’m home in NC with my awesome dad (turning 88 4 days after christmas. Yesterday he changed a flat tire himself on his 1970 Datsun (over 300,000 miles!) on his way to his tennis game.). I’m trying not to let my sister “get” to me. Hoping my kids don’t break, tear, destroy all the antique things in dad’s house (old cookie jar lid cracked this morning). Trying not to fret about husband who is out of his element.
    I asked my family to donate to Wildlife DIrect. WD is trying to help the gorillas in Congo who are having a terrible time due to murderers (not even poachers) and war. And tonight I go to a great Christmas party to see friends from high school and sing the Yellaluia Chorus together!

  11. Kate permalink
    December 22, 2007 10:59 pm

    I got the $9.64 food bank bag the couple of times I went to Publix in December, because food banks all over the country are tapped out this year!

    I’m gearing up for the annual fundraising drive for Tuition for Baraka, the scholarship fund I co-coordinate for a teenaged orphan in rural Tanzania.

    And I’m about to do my volunteer schedule for RAINN’s sexual assault online hotline over the next couple of weeks. They have a campaign going right now to make the hotline available for sexual assault survivors and their loved ones 24 hours a day at http://www.rainn.org/node/356.

Leave a Reply

