Skip to content

The saddest day

November 30, 2007

Today I watched four friends, three of them children be laid to rest in the ground. The unseasonably warm sun on my face and the high brisk fall wind in contrast chills me for many reasons. The senselessness. The blackness. The horror I will never be able to forget. The deep crushing sorrow of her family was so heavy it swept out over the green hills and you could feel its weight pressing down. An actual ache in my body.

I do not believe in prayer but my friend did. I will pray for the strength of every woman living in fear for her life or her children’s to leave her abuser. To get away safely and to never be afraid again.

This season I would like to ask that if you read this if you would not consider please skip buying one gift and instead giving something to a local domestic violence shelter.

If you are being abused please call someone. You can go to this site or this one for more information.

If you know someone being abused don’t be embarrassed to talk to them. Let them know you will listen. Let them know they are not alone and they can be safe.

If you are married to a decent and loving man who is a good father be thankful for a wonderful relationship and pass on some of your fortune to someone else.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2007 1:19 am

    3 other things:

    if you are not married to a loving & decent man, but are okay as a single, find a way to give to give something.

    if you are a loving & decent male reader, consider protecting a family who didn’t or couldn’t get it for whatever reason.

    if you are being abused in any relationship whether heterosexual or same sex, please go to someone who you trust for help.

  2. November 30, 2007 5:12 am

    Nicely said.

    I’m sorry your day was filled with grief.

  3. December 1, 2007 12:07 am

    I feel really sad for that whole family. And you. I will think about this and think of what else I can do.

  4. December 1, 2007 2:50 pm

    Oh Cole…my heart is so heavy for you and your friends family. So very heavy…

  5. December 3, 2007 2:19 am

    It’s really terrible. Boggles the mind that someone can be so selfish and so destructive. And yet it happens all too often. I’m sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

