Skip to content

Is it so wrong?

November 13, 2007

Question: Is it so wrong to think poorly of a jewish white girl who when ever she is speaking to our african american co-students involved in our group project she sounds like that character Tracy Ullman played on her HBO show, the one who is the african american airport security worker?

I think I might slap her the next time she exclaims, “Nuh, uh, no she dnt.” or “I be so angry wif dem too…”

She is nice and sits next to me in lecture and I have never, until today, heard her inner black girl. NOW, for more stereotyping, my classmates, who are black…don’t talk like that at all. It is like some weird parody or something she is doing. I feel like she just put on some black face or something everytime she does it. I wonder what they think?

Do you think if I started talking in a southern accent she might join along? Is it acceptance she is after? Cause I think if it is they are probably not impressed that she can imitate a stereotypical inaccurate dialect of inner city black females. It is stupid. It is unnecessary really and it makes me want to ask her if she is okay or is having some kind of seizure. Is she on medication? Does she see a therapist. Does she need an enema?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2007 12:21 am

    This is unbelievable. Both hilarious and enraging. She has got to be incredibly ignorant. I really wonder if it is on purpose or unconscious. Someone has to say something to this woman. I assure you someone eventually will, or maybe even did, but there’s no reason why you can’t also say something to her like, maybe in the Ladies’ Room, in her own pseudo-black dialect like: “Hows come yous talks like yous thinks black chicks talks when yous around black chicks? Hows comes yous don’t realize how dat makes yous so offensive I wanna give you a ten hour enema with some whitey chlorox bleach until you stop with that racist shit? Or maybe not?

  2. November 14, 2007 5:20 am

    Sometimes I think it’s just an attempt to fit in- people are usually coming from a good place- or they think it’s cool. When in London act like a Londoner…???

    And then how do you tell someone without insulting them that it sounds bad or rude??

  3. November 16, 2007 4:56 pm

    I talk like a chola when I’m around other cholas. But then again, I am a chola.

Leave a Reply

