Skip to content

Well, it is over and NO I did not get an A betuz it was hard and I suck

October 16, 2007

Med Surg 1 is over and now IF I pass I get to move on to Maternal Newborn. Which I am dreading. Ick. BUT I might get to put someones Foley in and won’t that be awesome! I hope it is not you who I do first OR I hope you have some kind of epidural already or something.

I have already started to clean and put my life back together so I can ignore it again for 7 more weeks. We are having an open house for D’s art thing this Sunday from noon-5, so if you know where I live, come on by. Buy some art. We are broke. And it would make D very happy.

Chica is sick and having problems with her asthma. I wish my mom were around because she lived with asthma her whole life and could give me some good hints on how to deal with it. She is pretty good about telling me how she feels so far and thinks her inhaler is cool.

Today while I was cleaning I found her xmas dress her lovely and darling Aunt Physsie gave her last year. It just barely fits her and she wore it with her ballet slippers. Too cute. Spawn is dying, literally DYING to ride his skateboard ever since we saw these 9 year old boys on CBS sunday morning riding skateboards, getting sponsors and doing some rad tricks. I am not so hep to this as one of the boys had a chipped front tooth. A permanent one. Yikes. Well, we need to pad him up. Maybe wrap him in bubble wrap. It is getting chilly finally and it won’t be too hot.

Chica sings everything lately. As in, “I am in the potty. I am doeoing poopy. I love to go poopy…and you can’t see me. I want to do what I want to do and you can’t see me, he-he-he….OOOooooohhhhhh…I am doeing poopy~(abrupt stop…) HEY MAMA WIPE MY BUTT SO MY VIRGINA DOESN’T DIT ALL WED AND OWEY.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2007 1:52 am

    Wow. Chica sings a bit more about potty than my Peep. Peep is more into the constant monologue about the potty… my potty, go potty, go potty, go potty, yay!!, go potty, m’ pot-ty, potty, potty, potty…. well, you get the point.

  2. October 16, 2007 9:33 am

    You’ve got yourself one awesome Chica, there. Obviously an apple from the tree, from what I gather reading your wonderful posts.
    Yes, I’m happy for both of us that you won’t need to practice your Foley technique on me – just one tip from the patient’s perspective: remind the woman to keep breathing as naturally as the circumstances will permit… Best.

  3. Kate permalink
    October 17, 2007 5:13 am

    i figured that a foley was a catheter but i didn’t know until wikipedia informed me just now that it can be used to “ripen” the cervix in order to induce labor.

    holy hell but something about using “ripen” to talk about any bodily organ, any old organ really, gives me pause.

Leave a Reply

