Skip to content

And we’ll have fun, fun, fun until your patients pulls out their rectal tube….

September 28, 2007

Yes.  And practically flung it at me. Yes…his rectal tube. And he punched me 4 times in the face with his poopy mitt (it didn’t hurt, but yeeck!) and tried to bite me many times.

And, yes, ladies and germs, I have to pay someone else to do this. sigh.

And I still like it. And I still ate lunch today. And I still want to be a nurse. I admit today I was totally overwhelmed by it all. Thank goodness for the Techs that do all that day to day stuff. They were so great and helpful as I stood around like an idiot not knowing where to start. Sheesh.

What. a. day.

OH and my other patient had schizophrenia and had this manic loop about “they want to get rid of me. That’s what they do. THEY do it all the time. THEY do it to me. They don’t want me around….”

I would ask him, “Who are they? Do they have names?”

his reply, “yea, they do. They want to get me….” and the loop continues! He was kinda fun.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2007 10:00 pm

    I didn’t know there was such a thing as a rectal tube. I guess there’s a tube for every orifice. And nurses deal with them all.

  2. donna permalink
    September 29, 2007 1:23 am

    I will never be able to listen to that song the same way again!

  3. September 29, 2007 2:39 pm

    I am hereby tagging you for the Meme: List your five greatest strengths as a writer.

  4. September 30, 2007 4:54 pm

    Yuck – a rectal tube in the face? Ann Landers back in the day could have used “Take 5 lashes in the face with a used rectal tube!” as her suggested punishment for stupidity. 🙂 G

Leave a Reply

