Skip to content

So the first exam is over

September 11, 2007

And now I sit and contemplate how many I can get wrong and still pass (remember passing is 75%, and no they don’t round and no there is no curve) and wonder if I can live for 2 days while I wait for my grade to be posted.

Yes Donna, I am a grade nerd. I have to be. It is sad but these 3 exams–in 7 freakin weeks– count toward 75% of my grade and you have to get that same percent in order to just pass. We had 110 pages of power point notes, about 200 pages of text and had to pull about 1/3 of the knowledge from Fundamentals and A&P in order to pass. The questions were hard. Tricky and although I felt I knew my notes fairly well…it was still hard to put the answer together with the knowledge I have. It sucks to look at a question, know every value, every meaning of every word but still not be able to make sense of the 4 choices you have to pick from. I try to write out my answer before I even look at the selections so I am not distracted by them. Several times not one thing was my choice to pick from.

This is so nerve wracking and crazy. I feel like this will never be done and at the same time it is zipping by me and I am rethinking every question and wondering if I passed. I hope I passed. I need to pass. I need to hit this out of the park because I might really tank on the fluid and electrolyte test (the next one) and that would suck. I need some room to fuck up one. And then it is okay. Well, no Donna, not actually okay but I would pass. Not happily mind you but pass.

Don’t you all wish Donna had a blog and you could figure out who the fuck I am talking to?

Well, I have off tomorrow from school and it is election day. I am babysitting 6 children under the age of 6 tomorrow and my old stand by of liquor, ear plugs and duct tape might be just the thing.

OR I could google the directions to one of my teachers houses and stand outside her window shouting to give me my grade and then she will expel me from school.

OR I could drive to the store and buy lots and lots of cake. With frosting.

OR I could take some benedryl and pass out in my own fetid filth because it is about 90* and 90% humidity today.

OR I could study some ahead.

OR I could clean the house.

Um. hm.

I got nothin interesting.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2007 12:32 am

    Your old standbys of liquor, ear plugs and duct tape is so funny I got tears in my eyes, especially wondering how exactly you plan to use the duct tape. Also, Donna is funny, whether she has a blog or not.

  2. September 11, 2007 12:39 am

    Duct tape, benadryl, a low-voltage taser and some wine should get you through the day.

    When is Donna going to blog?! Put me on the subscription waiting list.

    Of course you’re going to pass. You always pass.

  3. September 11, 2007 1:15 am

    I think the obvious solution is to combine all of your choices (except maybe the studying). Take the children with you to get cake – then you can tell yourself they ate most of it and you won’t get any of the calories, PLUS then they’ll be all sugared up for the next step, wherein you take all of them to your teacher’s house and tell her you won’t remove them until she caves and gives you your grade. THEN, apply benedryl liberally, to both yourself and the children (to counteract the sugar). If you really feel the urge to houseclean after all that, and you’re still at my house, then by all means, go for it. 🙂

    I know you did great!

  4. September 11, 2007 7:41 pm

    Donna, come out, come out wherever you are!

    If the past is reliable- i’m sure you passed fabulously!

  5. caroline permalink
    September 11, 2007 10:33 pm

    oh god. this totally called up my school angst. a part of me would love to go back to school but i don’t know if i know how to do tests still.
    i would study and study and sit in front of the test and not know how to answer anything. the rest of the world was busy scribbling answers around me.
    i think it’s cool you are doing it.

  6. donna permalink
    September 11, 2007 11:23 pm

    Hahahaha, seriously though, no one would want to read my blog. Cole, your obsession with grades is adorable. I only laugh because you always do well and are never truly in danger of failing. xoxo

Leave a Reply

