Skip to content

Strangely flattering

August 7, 2007

Riding home on a hot summer day, cd player cranked to Lily Allen and singing along loudly I hear something to the right of the car and glance over still singing and wishing for the car to start moving so I would not melt into a puddle on my seat. I look again, turn down my radio a little and notice one of those kids selling cold water for $3 a bottle out of cooler on the side of the road. I smile at him and he shouts out to me as my light turns green and my foot lets go for the gas,

“Fuck you, you skinny white bitch!” and I think to myself, ‘thin? He thinks I am thin? I am sitting down and my fat stomach is all muffin-toppy over my workout pants and I am sweaty and my lipstick has come off. Gee, hmmm. Maybe I do look hot?’

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2007 3:37 am

    I have this to say to you: don’t try and test me, ’cause you’ll get a reaction.

  2. August 9, 2007 10:14 pm

    Hilarious!
    I found your blog through Joe Felso and love it. Reminds me of when my children were younger. Wishing blogs existed then. I would have blogged away. Adding you to my blogroll.

  3. August 10, 2007 7:33 am

    Cole: Could you comment on your blog instead of on my e-mail? It would generate more of a dialogue with other readers and I’m sure Joe Felso would appreciate what you have to say about your fondness for him. I hardly ever check my e-mail these days, I am so much more entranced by Blog World, which I check multiple times a day when I can. Also, your comments to my comments are funny too. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

