Skip to content

An idea that won’t go away…Bound for Europe?

July 1, 2007

For the longest time, well, since Al Gore lost the election, we have been toying with the idea that we would leave the USA and move somewhere else. The trailers for Sicko and recent events in congress and our government in general make it easier and easier to consider leaving for good.

Today, for some reason, I am obsessed. I have spent hours looking on line at housing prices and what you get (we would so HAVE to downsize and settle for less…) in and around London. Mainly because of the fact that English is the language spoken and we have been there and it is pretty cool. And rainy but well, it does make it green and if we want to drive a few hundred miles we can vacation in Italy or The Netherlands or Spain easily by train. That sounds kind of cool, right?

My plan, is move in 5 years if I can manage to finish nursing school. That will give me 3 years of practice in the field and plenty of time to apply for permission to practice in England.

So, if you know of a great town, a great housing agent or any ideas please let me know. I am not married to the idea of England but would consider The Netherlands also. Somewhere that the primary or other common language is English because, after all, I am a dumb American and only speak one language.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2007 12:53 am

    I’ve been thinking along the same lines as I maybe-sort of-kind of decide on a career path – that if I do become a doctor, I wouldn’t be so limited about where I live, and we could go see some of the world as more than a tourist. So cool!

  2. July 2, 2007 3:43 pm

    Erm… Canada maybe? The UK can be even more crowded than the US, whereas Canada is pretty open up. Just stay away from Quebec or New Brunswick, and the rest of the lot speaks English.

Trackbacks

  1. University Update - Al Gore - An idea that won’t go away…Bound for Europe?
  2. University Update - Sicko - An idea that won’t go away…Bound for Europe?

Leave a Reply

