Skip to content

To M and her R

June 16, 2007

My heart is pressed against my lover. My husband. My friend. Familiar shadows outside our window are only our dogwood tree illuminated by the city street light. Overwhelmed by the fact that I am privileged to be the recipient of so much tenderness and security makes me feel guilty when I know one woman who will sleep alone with fear in her heart.

My thoughts are with all spouses that will lay down tonight without their other half of their life. I want so much to be able to make it impossible that another person may have to endure wasting their honor and courage for a pathetic coward that is our president. I am so proud of all the soldiers I know and am grateful that they are willing to go somewhere that I could not. Would not. I am grateful. That gratitude and admiration will not be enough and has not been enough to end this stupid, wasteful and ridiculous war.

I am sorry if it makes you sadder to read this but I don’t want to pretend that it doesn’t make me sad. Sad for you and your lovely family. You are sweet and lovely and I am sorry. Sorry you must endure this. Sorry that your heart will be filled with worry and concern. Sorry that you are without your partner. Guilty for having mine. Frustrated because I can’t think of one thing that would make it better. But I will try. I am thinking that laughter, time spent together and the idea that if I can not make this go away for you that maybe I can help the time go by faster.

Truly, all my love…for everyone to see, is just for you.  

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2007 11:07 pm

    Awesome post. Very well stated.

  2. Megan permalink
    June 23, 2007 9:51 pm

    Just saw your post and I was touched. Thank you for all of your kind words and your concern. I know he will be fine and come home to us as soon as he can. I agree that the war is pointless. But I believe he will be protecting our freedom somehow. It was so nice to have you and the kids over, let’s do that again soon.

    M

Leave a Reply

