Skip to content

40 is the new 20 and other bullshit

June 1, 2007

I am old. Very old. Well, I feel very old especially when I am at school. I had several of my fellow students say to me, “gee…I had no idea you were 36…I thought you were our age (er, like 25) “.

So, either I am really immature OR they are full of shit.

One of them said to me that 40 is the new 20 and that they hope they look as good as I do when they are that old.

I say to them let me know if that thought comforts you when you are my age, with two children and are back in school with a bunch of teenagers.

It makes me sad to think how disappointed I was with my body, my face and my appearance in general through out my 20’s. I had my son when I was 30 and it has been all down hill, body wise, from there. I am still about 15 pounds heavier than I was in my pre-children days and my face is covered with age spots and my eyes have wrinkles and my body is saggy and my skin is all dry and icky. Truly I should have revered my body in my 20’s and not taken it for granted.

I would trade looking like I am in my 20’s when I am 40 for knowing what I hope to know when I am 40 when I was in my 20’s.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2007 11:31 am

    omg, you’re 36!!!??? I would have pegged you for 33, 34 tops. 🙂

  2. TracyAnn permalink
    June 2, 2007 1:06 pm

    I had to read the last sentence a few times (I’ve only had a few sips of coffee thus far this morning) to make sure I got that right. You would give up your knowledge gained over 40 year experience(good and bad) just to look like you were 20 again? Come on Hon, we all sag and dry out, it’s OK. You are BEAUTIFUL just the way you are, I know because I’m beautiful too at 36! Ha, Ha!!! Seriously though, what makes you beautiful inside and out is all that you have been and are at this time. I love you, miss you. xoxo TracyAnn

  3. joefelso permalink
    June 2, 2007 3:20 pm

    I’d like to make some piecemeal trades. I’ll give two years experience for two new knees and up to five years for the pounds I’ve been adding gradually since 40. That would put me seven years of hard learning behind but wouldn’t hurt me much. I keep on expecting the confidence and self-assurance that comes with age, but, as I approach fifty, I wonder if the wisdom with experience equation is all it’s cracked up to be. Has it ever been? The new 40 is 40–the challenge is making the most of the time ahead.

  4. June 2, 2007 6:23 pm

    Oh sister…I hear ya….and I’m 39 this year. I too wish I had appreciated my 20’s body and what I wouldn’t do to get it back (I write as I brush the crumbs of not one but four oreo cookies from my saggy chest).

  5. gina permalink
    June 3, 2007 3:04 am

    1) you are gorgeous now, i can’t imagine what you must have looked like when you were 20. you are someone who always looks pretty even when you have a cold and haven’t slept and are wearing sweats…you don’t think so but I do, for what it’s worh. 🙂 and i am sure d agrees!!
    2) i guess i had the fortune (?) of never having been hot in the first place so I don;t miss it….just one summer when I was 24 I looked pretty good….a brief blink in time…I am hoping if I can ever get off my ass and to the gym regularly I can have a hot period in my 40s like jane fonda… we can dream.

Leave a Reply

