Skip to content

Wear em down man

May 29, 2007

Our pool has officially opened. Thank goodness for the pool. They swim, they are cold, they run, they are in the sun, they swim, they eat, they play, they dig in the sand, they swim and are absolutely exhausted by the end of the day. There are so many kids there that they rarely speak to me which is lovely.

Spawn has -2% body fat and so his lips turn blue after about 15 minutes in the pool and then he eats like a lumberjack which is weird for him since he does his best to imitate an air plant. Meaning he needs water and sunlight to sustain himself apparently and that is all. It is nice to see him eat so much but it worries me to think the calories he burns at the pool. Spawn has discovered much to his delight that he can jump in the deep end where he can not touch with his feet, pop up to the top and dog paddle over to the edge to do it all over again. And again. I am so proud but also not so amazed at his ability to swim. He weighs next to nothing–duh he should float. Spawn is like a piece of  human balsa wood with blond curly hair on top. When he draws a stick figure of himself it is an accurate self-portrait.

Chica-Poo still needs her water wings and we are surprised that our fearless fish of last year has been over taken by a more cautious and clingy gal. She is the one I worry most about drowning so I am slightly relieved she is more afraid of the water. I keep telling myself that she is developing a sense of responsiblity for herself and others around her but I don’t actually buy it. She is eating actual vegetables now and does not gag or throw up. A huge step for her and now not so embarrassing as we are considered among our friends to be very healthy eaters. She was bringing our image down and I am glad she is more or less on the bandwagon.

It is  a relief to wake up and know that I can wear out my children without the aid of school and with little or no effort on my part. I do have to endure wearing a bathing suit in public but that is a price I am willing to pay. I just need to tape record myself saying, “No, we are not buying something at the snack bar. Not today. You don’t get a treat everyday we are at the pool. No. No snacks.”

I have taken to saying, mostly to amuse myself when my kids ask me something I know that I will say no to immediately, “What do you think I am going to say?”

Every single fucking time without fail they answer, “No. You will say no.”

Duh.

One Comment leave one →
  1. gina permalink
    May 29, 2007 3:47 am

    oh my god, i had that exact conversation with sam today…he asked me something 3 times in a row…so i said, “what did i say last time?” and he repeated…and i said “so what will i say this time?” and he repeated….ah, connecting the dots…..

Leave a Reply

