Skip to content

A man sweater, and a sweaty one at that

May 10, 2007

So today at Clinical I had the singular pleasure of washing a giant, hairy, sweaty, un-modest, former nude model man from head to toe today. Sweaty scrotum, smelly armpits and very, very, very, very hairy. He had to have this contraption on his hand, called a Baer Hugger, to keep vasodiolation of his hand at a minimum and it makes you very warm and moist. He also had surgery on his dominant hand, has 4 IV’s and a Foley so he is not the most mobile of people. I really felt bad or him being so sweaty and gross. He was very polite although I found he did not have the correct amount of embarrassment while I did this duty…meaning NONE at all. It would suck to be sick, in pain, sweaty so you can’t even reach the trickles that go down your back or nose and it is not pleasant to be dependent on other people so I can totally commit to this. It is okay. I am needed and it is just fine.

One strange thing though. He was embarrassed about getting some toothpaste in  his beard when I helped him brush his teeth but had no problem me washing his balls.

Hmmmm. Do I really want to be a nurse?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2007 10:18 pm

    Hmmmmm… yeah, that is curious and a wee bit scary.

  2. May 12, 2007 2:37 am

    I’m so vain, I probably thought this post was about me. I’m soo vain – SO VAIN! I probably thought this post was about me, doncha doncha
    With apologies to Carly Simon.

Leave a Reply

