Skip to content

Flip the old folks, for christs sake!

February 3, 2007

THIS….

…..is what I have been looking at this week at school. More enforcements for me that I SO do not want to be a nurse that has to look at the insides of people all day long. Ewww. Disgusting. Yuck. This is a Stage IV pressure ulcer, also known as a bed sore. At this stage the ulcer has reached to the bone, fascia, muscle and tendons and has tunneled to create necrotic areas underneath the skin that are not visible to the open wound only.

SO. FUCKING. GROSS.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2007 2:25 am

    That is Nasty. I so could never ever be a nurse/doctor or anyone that helped ill people get better. I would literally dry heave if I had to look at that in real life. I’m dry heaving now looking at it in fake life.

  2. gina permalink
    February 3, 2007 3:17 am

    i am completely fascinated by skin! when i was thinking of medical school i had thought about working with burns…how crazy am i?

  3. February 4, 2007 4:47 pm

    It honestly never really bothered me. I actually wanted to get into medicine when I was young, but really just didn’t care to study biology in high school (so obviously that career path was out).

    Well, luckily, the desensitisation allows me to shoot things on film without hurling.

  4. Megan permalink
    February 10, 2007 9:35 pm

    I’m with Heidi, I want to hurl just looking at this picture. The fact that you can look at this in real life and continue with your studies shows that you ARE a nurse! (you just need to prove it to yourself)

Leave a Reply

