Skip to content

I went ice skating in gym class and all I got was a lousy concussion

December 8, 2006

Oldest spawn, while brilliantly making an effort to march on the ice with his airplane arms, was involved in an accident that neither my husband nor I saw and he has a level one concussion, probably. We were both there and missed it. D just noticed that the little man had a gash next to his eye, like almost right on it. It must have just happened because I had just been skating with him but then left him to go help poor little turtled children up off the ice so their hands would not be run over by more successful skaters. So, do I win mother of the year for this or am I still reigning because he called a classmate a dumbass the first week of kindergarten? Gosh, so difficult to choose.

On a more spectacularly less painful note, Princess Chica-Poo is a natural. She is not quite 3 and mastered standing, skating and falling down AND getting back up easily all on her own. I was shocked. We want to enroll her in skating lessons immediately because this could be our ticket out of the ghetto and into some phat monies. Let the child bring home the bacon for a while and seriously, what girl did not imagine that she too, one day, might be Dorthy Hamill? I would not get her haircut like that unless they paid me a lot of money. She has Barbie hair so it must be long and flowing.

I am just now waiting out the night and hope that our dear oldest spawn will be fine in the morning. AND I sent him to gymnastics this afternoon because really I thought I was over reacting about the injury to his sweet little face.

I am going to make such a great nurse. Aren’t you all so excited that soon I may be practicing at your local health care facility one day?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. gina permalink
    December 8, 2006 3:37 am

    poor jasper! did you have to do an ER trip? ugh.
    sam is afraid to go ice skating. maybe alden can have a talk with him.
    you are a rockin mom, btw.

  2. December 8, 2006 5:26 am

    Yikes! Is he okay?

Trackbacks

  1. Ice-Skating » Blog Archives » Eff Ice Skating

Leave a Reply

