Skip to content

Our poor deprived children

December 6, 2006

My daughter brought home a Santa face with cotton balls to put on his beard to count down the days of xmas last week. I asked her who that person was. She replied, “A princess?”

Today she brought home some “reindeer food” with oats and sparkles in it to sprinkle on our lawn the night before xmas. I asked her what reindeer are and where the reindeer were. She replied, “Day are my reindeers and day are at sooool.”

We don’t do anything except decorate our white plastic tree with vintage bird ornaments and we donate money to various charities like Heifer for xmas and our poor children are showing the signs of being completely ignorant of the whole Santa fantasy.

I think it is very amusing now but I am sure at some point they will be screaming at me as they run out of their very expensive therapists office, “YOU ROBBED ME OF MY RIGHTFUL CHILDHOOD YOU BITCH!”

sigh.

At least it is funny now.

ps. My friend Debbi, whose son also attends the same school, pointed out that their are probably about 3 kids out of 14 who are Arabic and most likely Muslim. I wonder if they have a problem with Santa being jammed down their throats?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2006 1:36 am

    I’m so torn over Santa. I don’t have a problem having him show up with presents – it’s more a matter of letting them believe that he’s real or not. I tell you I felt SO betrayed when I learned I had been lied to. But I also have such great memories from prior to that, of waking up and tiptoeing downstairs and seeing that he had really come.

    I just don’t know. I’m already introducing the idea of “And you get to be Santa, too and get a present for Daddy.” Maybe to gently introduce the idea of the symbolism…we’ll see.

  2. david bamford permalink
    December 7, 2006 7:14 pm

    Santa jammed down thier throats? Not Literally i hope? we dont teach it like that in the UK.

Leave a Reply

