Skip to content

How fat am I ?….I will never tell.

November 7, 2006

BUT, you can find out for yourself what you are. The election makes me think of all the reasons I should be improving my life. Improving my life makes the world a better place. NOW…whoa doggies, I don’t mean that world revolves around me, although it should, I mean that if I am healthy and living well–recycling, composting, eating well and local foods, trying to walk more and drive less and over all make some contribution to the world by my living versus just sucking the life out of it—that is a good thing. Your BMI is a good way to start assessing where you are physically. BMI should not be used with morbidly obese people, children or the elderly. BMI is a small number and one that seems a tad easier to tackle. So whip out your calculators and figure it out. Or for those brainy enough to carry-over your numbers and do it either on paper or in your head…do it and not only find out about your health but feel intellectually superior to the rest of us—-slaves to the calculator.

Then, instead of stopping by your local Starfucks for your morning cup a joe and a bagel/muffin the size of your head, skip the doughy goodness, drink some juice or eat a piece of fruit with your skinny latte and then GO OUT AND FUCKING VOTE. It still matters, all evidence to the contrary.

 

HOW TO DETERMINE YOUR BMI

Your BMI estimates how much you should weigh, based on your height. Here are the steps to calculate it:

  • Multiply your weight in pounds by 703.
  • Divide that answer by your height in inches.
  • Divide that answer by your height in inches again.

For example, a woman who weighs 270 pounds and is 68 inches tall has a BMI of 41.0.

Use the chart below to see what category you fall into, and whether you need to be concerned about your weight.

BMI CATEGORY
Below 18.5 Underweight
18.5 – 24.9 Healthy
25.0 – 29.9 Overweight
30.0 – 39.9 Obese
Over 40 Morbidly Obese
5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2006 8:41 am

    So I guess a score of 20.34 isn’t all that bad eh? A shame I’m not voting today, though to be honest, we don’t have an election up here. 😛

    And I’m not a Starbucks coffee fan (though I like the character Starbuck on Battlestar Galactica – yup I’m a dork.. I know).

    Cheers

  2. November 7, 2006 2:02 pm

    Oh thank god I’m still in the healthy category…but hanging on by a thread. Ugh….I’m so glad I started working out again. Hopefully I can drop the 15 lbs I can’t shake …. and if not, I hope I can at least drop 10 so my pants fit again. I curse the day spandex was introduced to the fashion industry.

  3. November 7, 2006 6:32 pm

    64. Maybe my math is off. With that number, I either need to get a sleep number bed or be toted by marine mammal rescue to the aquarium for further study.

  4. Heidi permalink
    November 8, 2006 4:17 am

    I fall into the Obese category – at least I’m not morbidly obese. Keith – I think you should be dead if that is your BMI. Whatev – I like butterfingers.

  5. November 9, 2006 3:24 am

    Gah! Overweight. I’m asking for a recount.

Leave a Reply

