Skip to content

Busy squirrels

October 19, 2006

Today, all of a sudden, the squirrels in my area are scurrying around like mad, stuffing their faces and running around hiding their cache of food. On campus today I must have seen at least 20 squirrels in a small patch of grass digging, rooting, munching and racing around clutching food in their tiny claws.

While I know some view squirrels as rats with a nicer tail I happen to really like them. My grandmother had a “pet” squirrel she named Dummy. He lived in her oak tree in her front yard and would come to the front door and rap on the glass to get her attention as she sat in her big chair, her elbows resting on her TV tray and sipping her ice tea while smoking her Mores cigarettes. If she did not happen to be there Dummy would go to the living room window to see if she was at the dining room table making noodles for turkey soup or pairing my grandfathers black socks. If she was not there he would run across the roof with his little feet banging the slate tiles on the roof to peer into the small kitchen window. If he was lucky she was there and would open the door and hand him an Oreo or a Ritz Cracker. He would gently take the snack from her hand and run away to the picnic table where he would eat his gift with a methodical precision. Dummy preferred the Oreos but would pull them apart just like a kid and eat only the creamy center and discard the cookie. He rarely looked for seconds and she only saw him call one a week or so.

My grandmother did not like animals as a rule. She thought my aunts pugs were cute to look at and would serepticiously give them people food while she cooked or from the table and liked to watch our cats run around and act silly while hopped up on catnip chasing the flashlight on the carpet. She did not want to pet them as she was allergic and had asthma.

Grammy’s pet squirrel Dummy was the perfect pet. He lived outside, was cute to watch and did not bug her too much.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2006 1:38 am

    Prairie dogs are even cuter, but in NM, where I used to live, they were seen as pests. They dug tunnels in the ground and created holes for ankle-breaking falls. A company had a huge sucking machine (like something out of Dr. Suess) and would hook up a vacuum to the holes and just pull them out, and deposit them in an unpopulated part of the state. People didn’t like this and staged protests. One time someone showed up in a giant prairie dog outfit. It was curious.

  2. October 20, 2006 2:29 am

    I like when Willy Winka says, “Don’t touch that squirrel’s nuts!” in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Double entendre – I love it!

  3. Heidi permalink
    October 20, 2006 6:17 pm

    I have a vendetta against squirrels. I have been attacked twice. I’m sure you’ve heard these stories. Yuck – Rats with bushy tails.

  4. October 20, 2006 10:37 pm

    I’ve noticed an increase in squirrel activity too. My University grounds has a load of grey squirrels, and I’ve come close to being jumped on by a few from the trees. Maybe it’s mating season and they’re going a bit crazy?

  5. Kiya permalink
    January 31, 2007 10:15 pm

    I love squirrels! I wonder what kind “Dummy” is.

Leave a Reply

