Skip to content

Next chapter: Love means I will buy you tampons and yes, you can fart in front of me

October 6, 2006

The little things in life can endear you another person. When I met my husband I was 21 and still embarrassed to buy tampons at the store. While reading a blog some gals I love write, my friend MommaSteph reminded me of a reason why I love my husband. We were just dating and I woke up with my friend Flo. He offered to go get tampons for me and I was shocked as the mere thought made me blush from head to toe. He came home I asked him if he was embarrased and told me, “Clearly they are not for me, so , no I am not embarassed.”

Another reason I love him is that I can fart in front of him and I don’t have to worry if he will make fun of me or really think much of it. Rarely do my farts smell wretched (unless I am pregnant and then, whoa baby, LOOK OUT. I offended the cat one night so badly with my butt stench he got up and walked out of the room with his wrinkled nose and did not come back that night.). I actually had him convinced for a while, maybe 3 years, that girl farts do not smell. I was also the first girl he ever saw go pee. Sheltered life he led in the ruralness of Cape Cod.

And yet another reason I love him is how completely enamored of our daughter he is. She has him hook, line and stinker wrapped around her little finger. When she was 3 days old he went to Target to get our son out of the house (or so he said) and came home with rumba hiney tights and barrettes. Yes she had lots of hair but barrettes. I laughed but he insisted that I adhere them to her head anyway and was sorely disappointed that they would not stay in. He loves to buy her very girly clothes and will put them on her immediately when arriving back at home. She is thrilled with this as she is a girly-girl and loves to dress up and put on no less than 2 outfits a day whether or not it is truly warranted.

Farting, tampons and barrets may not mean love to you, but to me it means that I am loved.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2006 3:26 am

    I’m glad to hear that you’re in love and all that, but who the hell measures a tampon?

  2. kath permalink
    October 6, 2006 4:11 am

    weird!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. October 6, 2006 7:00 pm

    That must be centimeters, right?

Leave a Reply

