Skip to content

What if your kid is really just a jerk and it is not a phase?

September 9, 2006

The prospect of this bothers me and I told my good friend Gina about my concerns. Gina actually enjoys being with her kid all most all of the time and doesn’t appear to have the issues of hating her kid, just a little bit.

It is not that I don’t love her still, I do. Always. Screeching, whining and obstination at EVERY single turn is too much to put up with and still harbor feelings of affection for her. Yesterday in the car D and I were on our way home and my daughter was screaming and shrieking like a mad hyena my dearest sweetie turned to me and said hopefully, “you know, they should really have a national ‘Beat Your Kid Day’ for those of us to do not use corporal punishment.”

I think most parents feel that way sometimes. These little people you have either created or willingly brought into your lives should harbor some kind of gratitude for their existence but usually they do not. Everything is so utterly NOW! for most small children that it makes it difficult for parents to see into the future and imagine them semi-reasonable and sane.

The only thing that saves her now is her 5 1/2 year old brother. He serves as an example of what is in store for the future of our daughter and is her brave defender and will say to her, “I still love you even if Mama and Daddy are mad… come on , lets play.” I am grateful they are so close and hope it always continues to be true for them. My frustration is this cyclical event where I am deprived of sleep because my daughter wakes up and is obnoxious, then is over tired and obnoxious and then so am I because I also have had no sleep and am feeling ill equipped to deal with her rationally and calmly.

My daughter was the most easy baby in the world and I feel I am being punished now for it. I realize she is only 2 1/2 and has time to learn, grow and mature. I just hope she lives long enough for us to find out.

****************************just for those who do not know me, I am just frustrated and am only joking. I do not want to go to jail and I would NEVER hurt my kids.*********************************************************

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2006 1:18 am

    Today we were at the farm, and this three-year-old just rubbed me the wrong way. He was a little rude to my son, and he just seemed unpleasant. Anyway, his mother enetered the scene and was talking to him, and asked for a kiss, etc., and it seemed to me that I should step in and let her know that her little pooky pants was a jerk.

    OK, not, but it did make me think about how even the most obnoxious kid is somebody’s sweet little baby. And maybe some day someone won’t like one of my little pooky pantses.

    😦

  2. September 10, 2006 3:16 am

    I have been there, believe me. A friend of mine once said, “at least at your job, you get to leave your annoying co-workers behind at the end of the day. When it’s your kid, it’s more like they annoy you all day on purpose, and then you have to wipe their butt or clean up their puke on top of it. and smile.”

  3. September 10, 2006 6:49 pm

    Boy, am I grateful for the ability to mutter under my breath. Whenever the wee ones are being especially annoying, I find great satisfaction in inaudibly calling them the most profane names on the planet.

Leave a Reply

