Skip to content

how wide your world

September 3, 2006

Low land seems too close and dangerous
A tight fit into who I think they imagine I might be
Smaller and smaller I become inside and out until there is no until left

A clever disguise and shiny flashing accessories blind me and my lookers on
Look on and see me daring to show what never will be watched with any enthusiasm

Louder and louder my noise becomes and I feel it becomes me
Changing on the outside is a piece of cake if there was any cake
Changing on the inside is like accepting that the world spins while gravity holds you down

Silence over an ocean
Quiet as a bird
The air is lost on me

Knowing what will be the next year, the next minute, the next second
The same as before
The same as before
The same as before

Wider world than I thought as I slide into my life
Roomy, large and warm

************ to debbi

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2006 2:33 am

    FREEBIRD!!

  2. September 5, 2006 2:46 am

    I meant to comment on this before – I’m so touched that you dedicated it to me, and it sounds like the unarticulated thoughts in my head.

Leave a Reply

