Skip to content

Outdoor pets

August 27, 2006

We have a new pet. He lives outdoors and maybe be male or female but it has been decided by majority that it is a HE. His name is Poppy Truck Driver–a co-naming project by my darlings. He is a green Praying Mantid. His curios eyes swivel 180* with his head as his antenae move around trying to get a sense of us. Will we eat him? Squash him? I can’t really speak of what the internal monologue of this curious insect may be. Poppy is the most lovely green color with a small faux eye type spot on his wings. The sharp spines on his forelegs that are posed in such a way that the Mantid was named. Poppy is living among our green planters on our porch table and seems very happy.

Originally we spied him on our Yew shedding his skin. That was cool and will make a fab show and tell for our son this year in kindergarten. I hope he stays because he is my favorite kind of pet. He lives outside. He is not dependent on us for anything and does not cost any money.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2006 11:35 pm

    Great photo, Cole! I’m glad he’s still sticking around — I’ve always wanted to see one in person, but still haven’t managed to spot one in my neighborhood.

    Genie
    The Inadvertent Gardener

  2. August 28, 2006 12:35 am

    I love the name! But you’re a better woman than I am – those things give me the heebie-jeebies!

Trackbacks

  1. The Inadvertent Gardener
  2. Like a prayer at The Inadvertent Gardener

Leave a Reply

