Skip to content

Testing random intelligence

August 8, 2006

I have to take a placement test today to apply for the nursing program at the school I hope to attend. It is called the TEAS test and contains subjects ranging from critical reading, grammar and sentence structure, algebra, fractions, geometry, chemistry, physics, and science including anatomy and physiology.

The practice book I purchased to help me study for it is pretty straight forward. They recommend a month of study before you take the test. That is confusing to me, because if they are “Testing Essential Academic Skills” (get it TEAS?) then why am I supposed to study for it? I can see reviewing for it? But , sheesh, a month? That is not review? That is learning their version of chemistry, math and such. Obviously, if you know me, that is what I shall tank in…c’est la vie. I can take the test again and they reccomend that you take it twice. I have to get a high C or low B to be competitive.

Here is a sample question:

One group of chemical elements referred to as a family has gram atomic weights of approximately 19, 35.5, 79.9 and 126.9. If one of those elements is a solid at room temperature, its ram atomic weight must be:
a.19 b.35.5 c.79.9 d. 126.9 ***answer: d elements tend to progress on the periodic table from gas, liquid to solid.

****Now here is a question for YOU…if you have ever been in a hospital and had to deal with nursing staff on a daily basis….can you think of at least ONE nurse you know could never answer this question?

HOW is all the algebra and chemistry relevant? I guess I will find out..perhaps. But I know that only one college level math course is required to apply and there is a wide range of classes that apply. I know you do not need to take any chemistry so I don’t know why they are asking? I guess if you get a bachelors degree in nursing/science you have to , but this is just an AS degree? Are they trying to say that the qualification is equal with out having to take equal courses, but must possess equal knowledge?

This logic sounds like it is being run by our current government, no?

Yikes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. lonesomewolf permalink
    August 8, 2006 2:00 pm

    And here I was complaining that computer networking was hard with all the IP addresses and sorting out configurations. Good luck on your test.

  2. ginapea permalink
    August 8, 2006 2:17 pm

    My friend Eve, who is a fabulous nurse, calls logs etc “some made-up math stuff.”

  3. laura permalink
    August 9, 2006 1:37 pm

    What a TEASe! I could hack the grammar stuff–no problem–but I’d be totally screwed if I had to take a math test.

  4. August 10, 2006 7:03 pm

    Actually it wold be reassuring if someone treating my wounds and putting chemicals into my body could tell the difference between fluorine, chlorine, bromine and iodine. Good luck on the test.

Leave a Reply

