Skip to content

Your love is like a tidal wave, spinnin over my head

July 21, 2006

I love Pat Benatar. I mean it. I LOVE her. Although Grease was the first album I bought with my own money and I owned every single Shawn Cassidy album (my dad was a DJ)… when I heard “Heartbreaker” on the radio for the first time, my 2nd grade brain went…BOING!. Seriously. I knew of some rockin chicks…like the sistas of Heart and Janis and some others…but wow. I got Precious Time for xmas and I owned everyone of her albums, yes albums, until she turned blues with Roomful of Blues. (who BTW played at my FIL’s place The Governor Bradford in Ptown every summer for YEARS). I have seen her in concert twice and written her countless fan letters. All I ever got back was an order sheet for merchandise. I know she has a rep for kind of a snot. That is okay. I listened to my 4 new CD’s in the car on the way home and sang my lungs out…almost. I didn’t want to frighten my hubby who already knows I am a geek, but I don’t need to reinforce that every single day. I try to space it out.

My daughter is 2 1/2 and loves music so much. When Heartbreaker came on, she asked me, “Mama, what dit song call?” I answered her, “Heartbreaker” and when you are 10 and have a slumber party, I will don my PJ’s and will teach you and your friends all the words so we can sing it and dance around in our underwear. My husband laughed, my daughter said okay? and my son, who is 5 1/2 said, “Can I wear my underwear too?” That is funny for many reasons. The first and most hysterical is that he will be 13 when my daughter is 10 and that will be the furtherest thing from his mind and am sure would be mortified at just the suggestion of such.

Rock on all my sistas.

******* I  KNOW that Heartbreakers isn’t on this album…this one is my fav. ***********

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2006 3:37 pm

    Several years ago Rolling Stone did an issue on the history of women in rock and they left out Pat Benetar. A reader took them to task, noting that Pat had a voice that could “tear your d*ck off”. I think that was well put!

    Get this – not only did they leave Benetar out – they also totally dissed CHRISSY HYNDE!!!!

  2. Gina permalink
    July 22, 2006 9:57 pm

    Grease was the first album I bought as well, and I also love Pat Benatar! I also loved REO Speedwagon in 7th grade and just heard “Take it on the Run” in the car about 20 minutes ago…

  3. dede permalink
    March 23, 2007 10:43 pm

    how do i get my waves on thew side in just a couple of dayz my nigga

  4. dede permalink
    March 23, 2007 10:44 pm

    how do i get my waves on the side and connect in a couple pf days my real nigga.

Leave a Reply

