Skip to content

Girlfriends are the best!

July 2, 2006

So, my husband and I were just driving home from the movies…Devil Wears Prada (LOVE the clothes and now I want to read the book) and we just happened to be driving in our BRAND NEW (today) car, Mazda5, and we are talking and listening to our cool new stereo in our cool new car and The Violent Femmes, classic, “Blister in the Sun” came on. I just love that song. It reminds me of my oldest and dearest BFF Tracyann, singing at the top of our lungs, driving in her yellow Toyota, smoking and thinking about the boys we wanted to kiss at the party we were just at. Worrying about if we were gonna get caught being a little bit drunk and trying to get back to her house before our curfew. Wondering if her older brothers were gonna be up and apprise us and say “I’m gonna tell Mom and Dad you are drunk” and hoping we could just watch MTV and pig out in peace. I loved that she would always hold my hand and we would cuddle when cold in the backseat of the car during winter party driving arounds. I remember one of our guys friends asked “What are you in love or something?” and our reply was YES. I loved that I had finally met someone who would dance around like a maniac, be adventurous and not make fun of me when I fell down trying to slam dance and would comfort me cause my foot got stomped. Feeling awful when we lost track of each other underage drinking in bars and accidentally some random maybe homeless black man just came up and kissed her. Laughing so loud and torturing drive through restaurants with ridiculous requests for butter pecan ice cream in silly southern accents. Wearing each others clothes…me envying her tallness and gorgeous legs, her envying me my petite nature and small feet. I loved that she let me cut her hair and we just got each other. I appreciate the wonderfulness of that friendship and what it did for me as a woman and person.

Driving home tonight I almost felt like she could have been in the back seat and we could sing like idiots. It is warm and breezy and star filled with a small crescent of a moon. There were stars I could see and it is the same sky.

Although, I am not that girl anymore. My DH just drove our babysitter home (nothing makes me feel sooooo old as that) and I am wishing she did not live in the country with the country mice and chickens and wasn’t pregnant, again (yea #4…please name her after me? Kidding.) so I could call her and tell her that I still passionately love her. I don’t think everyone is as lucky as I am and I know it.

To my peeps, my gals, the girls, all of you, thanks for laughing with me and not at me ( at least to my face) and for loving me even though I am crazy. Crazy for all of you. You know who you are….

“Let me go willllddd…like a blister in the sun, let me go willllddd. Big hands I know you’re the one…..”hmmHmmmmHHHhhhmmmmmm

One Comment leave one →
  1. TracyAnn permalink
    July 6, 2006 12:54 am

    You are so awesome. You had me laughing with all the memories, …just don’t remember the black man kissing me?

    Michael’s joke……..a three legged dog walks into a bar and says, “I’m looking for the man that shot my paw”…………….

    haw , haw,

    As soon as you wrote Violent Femmes..I was like …aw…and then you went on with all those special memories…..glad you have such a great memory.

    I love you too!!!!!!

    xoxo me

Leave a Reply

