Skip to content

no pictures here

May 13, 2006

Do you ever notice how complaining to your friends about your partner/spouse feels so much more cathartic than actually complaining to said person. Why is that? You would think the most direct route would yield the most satisfaction, but for me , no. How is it that you resolve issues that have been present all along, but just didn't really matter all that much. I am told that I am guilty of not letting the little things go. I feel my mother haunting me for sure. Is that really me who is bitching about where my husband puts the dishes or the sheets? Why do I give a crap, really? They are clean. They are put away. There are more things to worry about. 

Prioritize, as one of my BF and I were discussing. So, is it my priorities that matter, or my husbands? Who wins? I always have stool by the wisdom I have learned from being married/with someone for 14 years (this june), that it doesn't really matter who is right or wrong, it is who ever wants/needs it more. That was more clear to see, but lately, I think we have to fight about who wants it more too, not just who is correct in the argument.

I am at a loss. So much psychological shit…so little time to work it out.

I am reading in my Psych class that the in-congruence between your true personality (what is perceived by the world) and what you believe to be true about yourself will have a direct affect on  your self efficacy. The better your self perception, or how closely it matches reality, the happier and more successful you will be.

Right now I feel a great incongruence between how happy my marriage is and what it really is. Which really sucks because my husband and I are madly in love with one another. Is this like a mid-life crisis for marriage? Are we really trying to buy that impractical sports car and get our ear pierced and that is what all this fuss is about.  

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

