Skip to content

is war ever a justified means to an end and is abortion murder? revised version

May 1, 2006

Yea..I know you are thinking…this sounds fun and silly,uh?

Well, on my way to class today I was listening to the Diane Remes show on NPR and it was an interview an author who has written about war and politics though out the history of the USA.

He mentioned many retired Generals from our armed forces lately who have been very outspoken regarding our current mass of nuclear weapons and the potential severe harm it may do to the earth and mankind. There have been many presidents who have tried to stave off war but were met with much resisitence. THis author…I can't for the life of me remember his name…Jim or James something? His dad is a retired general of something? Anyway, the author talks about nuclear disarmament and how for generations people in power have tried unsuccessfully to remove them.

Also, this nun called in and told the story of Plowshares? group had gone to a nuclear facility and made a non violent protest and "symbolically" disarmed the missiles. She and 2 other nuns were IMPRISONED for distruction of property, conspiracy and some other bullshit charge. SHe and her fellow nuns served over 40!!! months each.

When I think of all the amazing people who sacrifce their personal freedoms for things I believe strongly in but do not get off my ass and do anything about…all I can say is a pathetic thanks.

But truly, thanks.

AND…this weekend while away, my hubby noticed a bumper sticker on my friends car. It said…"Human Sacrifice Happens Every Day…4,000 abortions every day"

WOW. I thought geez…that is pretty direct. So how this ties up in my mind is…why can't people who are "pro-life" worry about the people actually living on this planet. I think they need more protecting then fetus' yet unborn.

I am pro-life..I am for people who are alive. I want the human race to live in a world that is clean, safe, with plenty to eat, water to drink and to feel safe from harms way. People who are alive on this planet right now.

So, yes, I guess abortion could be considered murder if you believe that a fetus not yet born is a person intitled to the same rights as anyone who is living outside the womb. BUT…I think saving the people who are alive right now serves the greater good. I know , I know , I know the argument that if we are a culture that values unborn life, then that is why we do not value people who are born and living currently. I don't buy that argument.

I think we are a bunch of nasty selfish people for the most part who if you are a smige loving..you try really hard to do the right thing instead of the shitty selfserving thing. I believe that Kant was right. We all have a list of shit that we will and want to do. You never do what is not on your list, so even if it is something you "say" you don't want to do, you do it anyway because it is on your list. I think that explains some pretty fucked up behavior on this planet. So, if you are child molester…that is because it is on your list. I think that our lists can change but to some degree it is determined at some point basically who and what we are.

I would like to think that war can be justified and that it could be just that simple to say that abortion is murder. War is something that effects too many people to count so how can you say it is justified without consulting every single person it could affect? Abortion affects a significantly small amount of people but others claim it affects everyone. Why do we all have to worry about the shit that other people are doing  and  otherwise be concerned with how we live ours

Give thanks today to the people on this planet that make YOUR particular life possible..whoever they may be. We are all in this together whether we like it or not. 

To all of you, I wish you peace of mind and heart today.npr site

One Comment leave one →
  1. Heidi permalink
    May 2, 2006 1:40 pm

    I don’t really get Kant’s list. How is it different than fate? So you’re saying you believe that when people are born that their life is already spread out before them by some divine unknown power who writes up a list and no matter what we do we are going to do the things on the list – right or wrong. That basically sounds like fate to me.

    Webster’s Definition of fate –
    1. the principle or determining cause or will by which things in general are believed to come to be as they are or events to happen as they do : DESTINY
    2 a : an inevitable and often adverse outcome, condition, or end

Leave a Reply

