Skip to content

Is the humanistic view of man correct?

April 26, 2006

Are we all truly good but just at times do not see our goodness and potential?

I want to believe that, but then somethings …some events…some times humanity does not seem human.

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/

Memory of the camps 

You will have to cut and paste this link I am sure because I can't figure out how to do a link on my post. 

Warning: this is brutal honesty about the Holocaust. Every person on the planet should see this once.  

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Heidi permalink
    April 26, 2006 12:55 pm

    This is so weird I think I watched this movie when I was like 8 or something. I totally remember seeing a movie that was exactly like this on PBS. My parents at the time made all their kids watch it. It was disgusting to see and shocking especially to me who was only 8 years old or so at the time. I think people are born inherently good – look at a newborn baby who is 1 minute old – they are a blank slate. It’s life experience – culture – family – friends – conspiracies – etc… that fuck somebody all up. At least that is what I think. At the same time you can take two people who had similar circumstances who deal with those circumstances differently – their are too many pieces to the equation to know how one person will turn out or a society as a whole. Look at the USA today – for the most part its a bunch of hypocritical people supporting a leader who hides behind his religion. I’m not saying there is anything wrong with being religious – I am in fact religious – but I do think there is a problem with it when you use it as crutch to support everything just b/c the person saying it is a Christian. That is just ignorant – the same as the suicide bombers from Islam – they are taking what people tell them at face value instead of thinking for themselves. The world is getting to be a scary place when you think of all the horrible things that have gone on.

  2. April 26, 2006 6:04 pm

    I am big believer in KANT’s philosophy of the LIST.

    Everyone is born with a list of stuff they will do. Sometimes you share what is on others lists…example: sharing, driving responsibly, following direction in a classroom…on and on.

    Sometimes people have things on their lists that do not match yours. Examples: sharing, driving responsibly, following directions in a classroom..and on and on.

    I think that the majority of stuff on peoples lists is not that great. Some worse than others.

    Think about it…would you have objected to what the Nazi’s were doing and refused to kill innocent people who had done no harm to you or your family and risked being killed yourself and perhaps your family?

    I would like to think (hope?) that I would have hid people, stood up for what was right, helped people escape, saved whomever I could, been a voice of disention among the masses….maybe I would have just protected my kids and done what I could to keep them safe.

    Just because I would help my family…which would mean going along with it–the Nazi plan–does not mean I would be exempt from criticism in my role. I would be wrong to have participated in any way to help the Nazi’s reach there horrific goals.

    I think that would make me bad. Unable to sacrifice the smaller number for a greater good and a larger amount of people.

    I don’t know.

    I think there are a few people through history that could say they were willing to sacrifice themselves for what they believed in…Like MLK, Ghandi…some others, maybe even Jesus?

    Heidi, I would like to think that we are all good. But I don’t think we are.

  3. ben dover permalink
    October 23, 2006 8:17 pm

    This site sucks i wanted a view on why to humanists man is basicay good and is only bad when acted upon an ou tside force your all gay

Trackbacks

  1. My first time « blahblahblah

Leave a Reply

